Ohio Constitution
The 1851 Constitution with amendments current through March 2020


II.30 New counties

No new county shall contain less than four hundred square miles of territory, nor shall any county be reduced below that amount; and all laws creating new counties, changing county lines, or removing county seats, shall, before taking effect, be submitted to the electors of the several counties to be affected thereby, at the next general election after the passage thereof, and be adopted by a majority of all the electors voting at such election, in each of said counties; but any county now or hereafter containing one hundred thousand inhabitants, may be divided, whenever a majority of the voters residing in each of the proposed divisions shall approve of the law passed for that purpose; but no town or city within the same shall be divided, nor shall either of the divisions contain less than twenty thousand inhabitants.

This site is not the official publication of Ohio's Constitution. For the official publication, please contact the Secretary of State's office. This version is published with approval from the Secretary of State's office. To report any problems with this site, or errors to the content, please write to the webmaster@lis.state.oh.us.