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ACT SUMMARY 

 Exempts sales of clothing and school supplies and instructional materials from sales 

and use taxation during a three-day period in August of each year. 

 Specifically authorizes a county school financing district property tax for school 

safety, security, and mental health services. 

CONTENT AND OPERATION 

Sales tax holiday for back-to-school supplies 

The act establishes a three-day period each year during which clothing and 

school supplies and instructional materials are exempt from state and local sales and 

use taxes. Similar sales tax holidays were held in August of 2015, 2016, and 2017; 

however, those tax holidays were each authorized separately as one-time events. The 

act essentially makes this tax holiday permanent in each August. 
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Each year, the tax-exempt period begins on the first Friday of August. As with 

the prior temporary tax holidays, the act's tax exemption applies to each of the 

following: 

(1) Items of clothing up to $75 each. "Clothing" means all human wearing apparel 

suitable for general use, but does not include items such as those used in a trade or 

business, accessories, or sports or protective equipment. 

(2) Items of school supplies and instructional materials up to $20 each. "School 

supplies" means items commonly used by a student in a course of study, examples of 

which are specifically listed in the act, including book bags, crayons, erasers, notebooks, 

pencils, and pens, among other items. "School instructional materials" means reference 

books, reference maps and globes, textbooks, and workbooks only. 

The exemption applies regardless of whether the sale occurs in Ohio or outside 

Ohio: if the sale occurs in Ohio, the sale is exempt from the sales taxes; if the sale occurs 

outside Ohio (for example, by mail-order or over the Internet) but the item is used in 

Ohio, the sale is exempt from the use taxes that would otherwise apply.1 

Administration 

The act requires the Tax Commissioner to provide informational bulletins 

explaining the exemption to vendors.2 

Unlike sales and use tax exemptions for many other sales, under the act's sales 

tax holiday exemption the purchaser is not required to present an exemption certificate 

to the seller in order to have the exemption applied to the purchase.3 

County school financing district levy for school safety 

The act authorizes educational service centers (ESCs), through a county school 

financing district, to levy a property tax specifically to fund school safety, security, and 

mental health services.4 Under continuing law, an ESC may create one or more county 

school financing districts (CSFDs), which are a special-purpose taxing unit empowered 

to levy property taxes for certain purposes for the benefit of some or all of the ESC 

member school districts. A member school district may exclude itself from a CSFD, and 

                                                 
1 R.C. 5739.02(B)(56). 

2 R.C. 5739.05. 

3 R.C. 5739.03. 

4 R.C. 3311.50 and 5705.215(A)(1) and (2)(f). 
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a nonmember district may join itself to a CSFD. If a nonmember school board intends to 

join a CSFD where a tax is already levied, the question of joinder must first be approved 

by voters of the district. In any case, a CSFD tax may not be levied in any school district 

unless the district school board consents to the tax. A tax must be approved by the 

collective majority of voters throughout the CSFD, but not necessarily by the majority of 

the voters of each district. 

A CSFD tax may be levied for funding permanent improvements, special 

education programs, or "specified educational programs" in member school districts. 

These levies may be for up to ten years, but a special education or specified educational 

program levy may, alternatively, be for a continuing period of time. Continuing law 

requires revenue from a levy for specified educational programs to be used by the ESC 

to, among other things, make grants to the member school districts or distribute among 

them as may be specified in the resolution authorizing the levy.5 

Continuing law imposes no limitations on the services that qualify as a "specified 

educational program," but the particular program for which the levy will be used must 

be identified in the resolution levying the tax. The act specifies that one of these 

identified purposes may be to finance school safety, security, and mental health 

services, including employing or contracting for the services of safety or mental health 

personnel, social workers, or counselors. Like other specified educational program 

levies, a safety, security, or mental health services levy may be for up to ten years or a 

continuing period of time.6 
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5 R.C. 3311.51, not in the act. 

6 R.C. 3311.50 and 5705.215. 


