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Contents: Requires the Department of Agriculture to license and regulate pet stores

State Fiscal Highlights

e DPet store licensing. The bill requires the Department of Agriculture (AGR) to license
and regulate pet stores. One initial estimate is that this will increase payroll costs by
$800,000 annually to cover an additional eight employees assigned to this program.

e DPet Store License Fund. The bill creates the Pet Store License Fund which will
receive money from the license fee and civil penalties. The annual license fee is $500.
This will at least partially offset the increased payroll costs. According to an
April 2016 industry report published by IBISWorld, Ohio was estimated to have
around 530 pet stores. Based on information from the Department of Taxation, AGR
estimates that there are currently between 300 and 500 pet stores in Ohio.

e High Volume Breeder Kennel Control License Fund. The bill eliminates the
requirements that money may only be released from the High Volume Breeder
Kennel Control License Fund (Fund 5MR0) with Controlling Board approval and
that the Director of AGR request the release of not more than $2.5 million per
biennium. This will remove the cap on expenditures from Fund 5MRO and provide
additional flexibility to fund the Commercial Dog Breeders Program.

Local Fiscal Highlights

e Court costs. The number of civil cases filed in county and municipal courts may
minimally increase as a result of the bill's provisions. If so, this would increase
administrative costs for these courts, although these expenses would be offset by the
court costs and filing fees collected from additional cases.
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis

Overview

The bill requires the Department of Agriculture (AGR) to regulate pet stores
statewide. As part of this requirement, the bill identifies the sources from which stores
may obtain dogs for sale. These sources are: (1) animal rescues for dogs, (2) animal
shelters for dogs, (3) humane societies, (4) dog retailers, and (5) qualified breeders.
Additionally, the bill sets certain conditions for pet stores when selling, delivering,
bartering, auctioning, brokering, giving away, or transferring dogs. This will involve
additional regulatory costs, not the least of which is hiring additional personnel to run
the pet store licensing program. The bill also eliminates some requirements for the High
Volume Breeder Kennel Control Fund. The fiscal effects of the bill's provisions are
described in further detail below.

Licensing expenditures and revenues

AGR will incur new regulatory costs to operate the pet store licensing program.
A preliminary estimate provided by AGR is that the Department may need to hire eight
employees to enforce the bill's requirements. The needed staff would include two
administrative and six field employees at an annual cost of approximately $800,000.
However, this additional payroll expense and other program costs will at least be
partially offset by license fee revenue. The license fee is $500 and is to be paid annually.
License fee revenue will be deposited into the Pet Store License Fund which the bill
creates.

Much of the cost of the new pet store regulatory program will depend on the
number of pet stores operating in the state. According to an April 2016 industry report
published by IBISWorld, a forecasting and market analytics firm, there were 13,730 pet
stores across the states in 2012. Ohio was estimated to have 3.9% of this number, which
comes to around 530 pet stores. Based on information from the Department of Taxation,
AGR estimates that there are currently between 300 and 500 pet stores in Ohio. Given
the estimated number of pet stores, licensing fee revenue could range from $150,000 to
$265,000 each year.

Penalties for noncompliance

The bill allows AGR to impose civil fines on owners, managers, or employees of
a pet store if they violate the bill's requirements when displaying, selling, delivering,
bartering, auctioning, brokering, giving away, or transferring dogs. The civil penalties
include up to $500 for a first violation, up to $2,500 for a second violation, and up to
$10,000 for a third or subsequent violation. These civil penalties are to be deposited into
the Pet Store License Fund. A failure to comply with these requirements is also
classified as a criminal penalty, specifically a misdemeanor of the fourth degree that
carries a maximum fine of $250 and up to 30 days in jail. Court cost and fine revenue




would offset some of any additional expense created for local criminal courts to
adjudicate these matters when they occur. For any new misdemeanor cases, the state
receives court costs totaling $29. Of that amount, $20 is deposited into the Indigent
Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0) and $9 is deposited into the Victims of
Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020).

High Volume Breeder Kennel Control License Fund

The Commercial Dog Breeders Program under AGR requires the license and
inspection of high volume dog breeders. The program is funded by the GRF and annual
fees that are paid by high volume breeders and dog retailers and deposited into the
High Volume Breeder Kennel Control License Fund (Fund 5MR0). Under current law,
money may only be released from Fund 5MRO with Controlling Board approval and
with a limit of not more than $2.5 million per biennium. The bill eliminates both of these
requirements, thus removing the cap on expenditures from Fund 5MRO. This also
provides additional flexibility to fund the Commercial Dog Breeders Program.
Fund 5MRO revenue was approximately $206,000 in FY 2015.
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