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SUMMARY 

 Regulates the practice of certified midwives and licensed midwives, including by 
requiring them to be licensed by the Ohio Board of Nursing (certified midwives) or the 
Department of Commerce (licensed midwives). 

 Expands the Board of Nursing’s existing authority to regulate certified nurse-midwives, 
including by establishing conditions on their provision of certain midwifery services. 

 Authorizes certified midwives and licensed midwives to engage in specified activities, 
including attending births in hospitals, homes, medical offices, and freestanding birthing 
centers, and in the case of certified midwives, prescribing drugs. 

 Requires a certified midwife, like a certified nurse-midwife, to practice in collaboration 
with a physician and to enter into a standard care arrangement with the collaborating 
physician. 

 Creates the Licensed Midwifery Advisory Council to advise and make recommendations 
to the Department of Commerce regarding the practice and regulation of licensed 
midwives. 
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DETAILED ANALYSIS 

H.B. 545 regulates the practice of certified midwives and licensed midwives, including by 
(1) requiring such midwives to be licensed by the Ohio Board of Nursing (certified midwives) or 
Department of Commerce (licensed midwives), (2) specifying the activities in which they may 
engage, and (3) establishing conditions on the provision of certain midwifery services.1 At 
present, Ohio law does not recognize the practice of certified midwives or licensed midwives, 
but does recognize that of certified nurse-midwives, a type of advanced practice registered 
nurse (APRN) licensed by the Board who holds both of the following: a master’s or doctoral 
degree in a nursing specialty or related field and certification in nurse-midwifery from a 
national certifying organization approved by the Board.2 

Unauthorized practice as a certified midwife or licensed midwife 

The bill generally prohibits an individual from knowingly practicing as a certified midwife 
unless the individual holds a current, valid license to do so issued by the Board of Nursing.3 It 
also generally prohibits an individual from knowingly practicing as a licensed midwife unless the 
individual holds a current, valid license to do so issued by the Department of Commerce.4 

In the event of a violation of either prohibition, the individual is guilty of a fifth degree 
felony on a first offense, which is punishable by a fine of not more than $2,500 and a jail term 
of six to 12 months and a fourth degree felony on each subsequent offense, which is punishable 
by a fine of not more than $5,000 and a jail term of six to 18 months.5 Note that the bill delays 
the application of each prohibition and its criminal penalties until January 1, 2026.6 The bill also 
maintains current law prohibiting an APRN, including a certified nurse-midwife, from knowingly 
practicing as such without a Board-issued license.7 

Exemptions 

The bill specifies that the prohibition on knowingly practicing as a certified midwife 
without a license does not apply to any of the following individuals: 

 A physician, physician assistant, registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, APRN, 
including a certified nurse-midwife, or licensed midwife who is licensed to practice in 
Ohio; 

                                                      

1 R.C. Chapter 4723 and 4724. 

2 R.C. 4723.41. 
3 R.C. 4723.54 
4 R.C. 4724.02. 
5 R.C. 4723.99 and 4724.99. See also R.C. 2929.14 and 2929.18, neither in the bill. 
6 Section 3. 
7 R.C. 4723.03, not in the bill. 
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 A traditional midwife; 

 A student who is participating in a midwifery education program accredited by the 
accreditation commission for midwifery education and who provides midwifery services 
under the auspices of the program and under the supervision of a certified midwife 
serving for the program as a faculty member, instructor, teaching assistant, or 
preceptor.8 

The bill also specifies that the prohibition on knowingly practicing as a licensed midwife 
without a license does not apply to any of the following individuals: 

 A physician, physician assistant, registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, APRN, 
including a certified nurse-midwife, or certified midwife who is licensed to practice in 
Ohio; 

 A traditional midwife; 

 A student who is participating in a professional midwifery education program and who 
provides midwifery services under the auspices of the program and under the 
supervision of a licensed midwife serving for the program as a faculty member, 
instructor, teaching assistant, or preceptor; 

 An individual who is participating in a professional midwifery apprenticeship and who 
provides midwifery services as part of the apprenticeship program and under the 
supervision of a licensed midwife serving for the program as an instructor, teaching 
assistant, or preceptor; 

 An individual who provides midwifery services without a license while engaging in good 
faith in the practice of a church’s religious tenets or in any religious act; 

 An individual who is not engaged in the practice of the religious tenets of any church or 
in any religious act, but who provides midwifery services without a license to others 
engaging in good faith in the practice of the religious tenets of any church or in any 
religious act; 

 A member of a Native American community who provides midwifery services without a 
license to other members of the community; 

 An individual who is participating in a midwifery apprenticeship under the supervision of 
a traditional midwife and who provides midwifery services as part of the apprenticeship 
program under the supervision of a traditional midwife; 

                                                      

8 R.C. 4723.54. 



Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office 
 

P a g e  | 5  H.B. 545 
As Introduced 

 A certified professional midwife or certified international midwife, but only if the 
certified professional midwife or certified international midwife does not, as a part of 
the midwife’s practice, obtain or administer drugs or perform surgical suturing.9 

Note on traditional midwives, certified professional midwives, and 
certified international midwives 

The bill exempts a traditional midwife from the prohibition against practicing as a 
certified midwife or licensed midwife without holding a license as such, thereby appearing to 
allow such a midwife to perform many of the same midwifery services as certified midwives, 
licensed midwives, and certified nurse-midwives holding licenses issued by either the Board of 
Nursing or Department of Commerce. 

Under the bill, a traditional midwife is defined to mean an individual who has entered 
the midwifery profession through an apprenticeship program with an experienced practicing 
midwife and does not hold a license to practice midwifery in Ohio.10 Under the bill, before 
providing midwifery services, a traditional midwife must disclose to each client in writing that 
he or she is not a licensed midwife. 

The bill also exempts a certified professional midwife and certified international 
midwife from the prohibition against practicing as a licensed midwife without holding a license, 
thereby appearing to allow such a midwife to perform many of the same midwifery services as 
a licensed midwife. To be eligible for the exemption, the certified professional midwife and 
certified international midwife must not, as part of the midwife’s practice, obtain or administer 
drugs or perform surgical suturing.11 

The bill defines a certified professional midwife to mean an individual who is certified by 
the North American Registry of Midwives, but is not a licensed midwife. A certified 
international midwife is defined by the bill to mean an individual who is certified by the 
International Registry of Midwives, but is not a licensed midwife.12 Thus, the primary difference 
between a certified professional midwife or certified international midwife and a licensed 
midwife is that the licensed midwife holds a license issued by the Department of Commerce 
while the other two do not. Note that under the bill a licensed midwife must be certified as a 
professional midwife by the North American Registry of Midwives, as an international midwife 
by the International Registry of Midwives, or certified as a midwife by another certifying 
organization approved by the Department. 

                                                      

9 R.C. 4724.02. 
10 R.C. 4724.01. 
11 R.C. 4724.02. 
12 R.C. 4724.01. 
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Use of titles 

The bill prohibits a person from knowingly using the title “certified nurse-midwife,” 
“certified midwife,” or “licensed midwife” or any other title implying that the person is a 
certified nurse-midwife, certified midwife, or licensed midwife without holding a current, valid 
license issued by the Board of Nursing (certified nurse-midwife or certified midwife) or 
Department of Commerce (licensed midwife).13 An individual who violates the prohibition is 
guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree, which is generally punishable by a jail term of not 
more than 180 days and a fine of not more than $1,000.14 In the case of a violation for 
knowingly using the title “licensed midwife” or otherwise implying that the person is a licensed 
midwife, the bill specifies that an individual violator is subject to a $1,000 fine and a jail term of 
not more than 180 days.15 

License applications and renewals 

An individual seeking an initial license to practice as a certified midwife must file an 
application, which includes submitting a $45 fee, with the Board of Nursing in the manner 
prescribed by the Board.16 If the Board determines that an applicant meets the eligibility 
criteria outlined in the bill, the Board must issue the applicant a license.17 Each license is valid 
for a two-year period, unless revoked or suspended, and may be renewed on application to the 
Board, which includes submitting a $20 renewal fee. 

Similarly, an individual seeking an initial license to practice as a licensed midwife must 
file an application with the Department of Commerce in the manner prescribed by the 
Department, with the application fee to be set in rule, with the amount not to exceed $45.18 If 
the Department determines that an applicant meets the eligibility criteria outlined in the bill, 
the Department must issue the applicant a license.19 Each license is valid for a two-year period, 
unless revoked or suspended, and may be renewed on application to the Department, with the 
renewal fee to be established in rule, with the amount not to exceed $20. 

Certified midwives – eligibility criteria 

To be eligible for an initial license to practice as a certified midwife, an applicant must 
meet all of the following requirements: 

 Be at least 18 years old; 

                                                      

13 R.C. 4723.03 and 4724.02. 

14 R.C. 4723.99 and 4724.99. See also R.C. 2929.24 and 2929.28, neither in the bill. 
15 R.C. 4724.99. 
16 R.C. 4723.08 and 4723.55. 
17 R.C. 4723.56. 
18 R.C. 4724.03. 
19 R.C. 4724.04. 
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 Have attained a master’s degree or higher; 

 Have graduated from a midwifery education program accredited by the Accreditation 
Commission for Midwifery Education; 

 Be certified by the American Midwifery Certification Board; 

 Be certified in adult and neonatal cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR); 

 Have successfully completed a course of study in advanced pharmacology.20 

And to be eligible to renew a license to practice as a certified midwife, an applicant must 
demonstrate that he or she has maintained CPR certification and has satisfied the continuing 
education requirements of the American Midwifery Certification Board.21 

Note on advanced pharmacology 

With respect to the mandatory advanced pharmacology course of study, the bill 
requires the course to meet the following conditions: (1) be completed not more than five 
years before the application for initial licensure is filed, (2) include at least 45 contact hours, 
(3) be approved by the Board, and (4) be specific to the practice of midwifery.22 The bill also 
requires the course’s instruction to include all of the following elements: 

 A minimum of 36 contact hours of instruction in advanced pharmacology that includes 
pharmacokinetic principles and clinical application and the use of drugs and therapeutic 
devices in the prevention of illness and maintenance of health;  

 Instruction in the fiscal and ethical implications of prescribing drugs and therapeutic 
devices; 

 Instruction in the state and federal laws that apply to the authority to prescribe; 

 Instruction that is specific to schedule II controlled substances. 

Licensed midwives – eligibility criteria 

To be eligible for an initial license to practice as a licensed midwife, an applicant must 
satisfy all of the following requirements: 

 Be at least 18 years old; 

 Have attained a high school degree or equivalent; 

 Be certified by the North American Registry of Midwives, International Registry of 
Midwives, or another certifying organization approved by the Department of Commerce 
in rules; 

                                                      

20 R.C. 4723.55. 
21 R.C. 4723.56. 
22 R.C. 4723.551. 
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 Be certified in neonatal and adult CPR; 

 Have successfully completed a course of study in breech births and a course of study in 
pharmacology, each approved by the Department in rules.23 

In lieu of demonstrating certification by the North American Registry of Midwives, 
International Registry of Midwives, or another Department-approved certifying organization, an 
applicant may demonstrate the following: 

 That the applicant holds a current, valid license to practice as a licensed midwife in 
another state and the Department has determined that the other state’s requirements 
for licensure are substantially similar to those described in the bill; 

 That the applicant is certified by NARM and holds a midwifery bridge certificate. 

And to be eligible to renew a license to practice as a licensed midwife, an applicant must 
demonstrate that he or she has maintained CPR certification and certification with the North 
American Registry of Midwives, International Registry of Midwives, or another Department-
approved certifying organization.24 

Permitted and prohibited activities 

The bill specifies the activities that a certified midwife or licensed midwife may perform 
as well as those that are prohibited.25 In the case of a certified nurse-midwife, the bill retains 
the activities that a nurse-midwife may perform under current law, but also specifies that the 
nurse-midwife has the authority to (1) attend births in hospitals, homes, medical offices, and 
freestanding birthing centers and (2) provide care to normal newborns during the first 28 days 
of life.26 

Certified midwives 

Under the bill, a certified midwife holding a Board-issued license may engage in all of 
the following: 

 Providing primary health care services for women from adolescence and beyond 
menopause, including the independent provision of gynecologic and family planning 
services, preconception care, and care during pregnancy, childbirth, and the postpartum 
period; 

 Attending births in hospitals, homes, medical offices, and freestanding birthing centers; 

 Providing care for normal newborns during the first 28 days of life; 

                                                      

23 R.C. 4724.03. 
24 R.C. 4724.04. 
25 R.C. 4723.57. 
26 R.C. 4723.43. 
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 Providing initial and ongoing comprehensive assessment, diagnosis, and treatment; 

 Conducting physical examinations; 

 Ordering and interpreting laboratory and diagnostic tests; 

 Providing care that includes health promotion, disease prevention, and individualized 
wellness education and counseling. 

But, to engage in the foregoing activities, the certified midwife must practice in 
collaboration with one or more physicians and enter into a standard care arrangement with 
each collaborating physician (see “Collaboration and standard care arrangements” 
below). 

Prescriptive authority 

Like certified nurse-midwives under current law, the bill authorizes a certified midwife 
to prescribe drugs and devices, including schedule II controlled substances.27 Note that a 
certified midwife’s prescriptive authority cannot exceed that of the midwife’s collaborating 
physician. The midwife also is prohibited from prescribing any drug or device included on the 
Board of Nursing’s exclusionary formulary. Under existing law that the bill extends to certified 
midwives, the formulary is prohibited from permitting the prescribing or furnishing of a drug to 
perform or induce an abortion. 

Note on controlled substances 

The bill authorizes a certified midwife to prescribe to a patient a schedule II controlled 
substance only if all of the following are the case: 

 The patient has a terminal condition; 

 A physician initially prescribed the substance for the patient; 

 The prescription is for an amount that does not exceed the amount necessary for the 
patient’s use in a single, 72-hour period. 

But, a certified midwife, like a certified nurse-midwife, is not subject to the foregoing 
restrictions on prescribing schedule II controlled substances if the certified midwife issues the 
prescription from any of the following locations:  

 A hospital; 

 An entity owned or controlled, in whole or in part, by a hospital or by an entity that 
owns or controls, in whole or in part, one or more hospitals; 

 A health care facility operated by the Department of Mental Health and Addiction 
Services or the Department of Developmental Disabilities; 

                                                      

27 R.C. 4723.481 and 4723.50. 
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 A nursing home; 

 A county home or district home that is certified under the Medicare or Medicaid 
program; 

 A hospice care program; 

 A community mental health services provider; 

 An ambulatory surgical facility; 

 A freestanding birthing center; 

 A federally qualified health center or federally qualified health center look-alike; 

 A health care office or facility operated by a board of health; 

 A site where a medical practice is operated, but only if the practice is comprised of one 
or more physicians who also are owners of the practice; the practice is organized to 
provide direct patient care; and the certified midwife providing services at the site has a 
standard care arrangement and collaborates with at least one of the physician owners 
who practices primarily at that site; 

 A site where a behavioral health practice is operated, but only if the practice is 
organized to provide outpatient services for the treatment of mental health conditions, 
substance use disorders, or both, and the certified midwife providing services at the site 
has a standard care arrangement and collaborates with at least one physician who is 
employed by that practice; 

 A residential care facility. 

Ohio Automated Rx Reporting System (OARRS) 

Like a certified nurse-midwife under current law, the bill requires a certified midwife to 
review the State Board of Pharmacy’s drug database, often referred to as OARRS, before issuing 
an initial prescription for an opioid analgesic as well as periodically if the patient’s course of 
treatment with the drug continues for more than 90 days after the initial report is requested.28 
The bill also requires the certified midwife to certify to the Board of Nursing that the midwife 
has been granted access to the database by the Board of Pharmacy.29 

Other drugs 

Under existing law, an APRN, including a certified nurse-midwife, may prescribe or 
personally furnish the following drugs without having examined the individual to whom the 
drug may be administered: epinephrine; a drug to treat chlamydia, gonorrhea, or 

                                                      

28 R.C. 4723.487. 
29 R.C. 4723.488. 
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trichomoniasis; naloxone; or glucagon.30 The bill extends this authority to a certified midwife 
holding a Board-issued license to practice as a certified midwife. 

Licensed midwives 

Under the bill, a licensed midwife may engage in all of the following activities: 

 Offering care, education, counseling, and support to women and their families during 
pregnancy, birth, and the postpartum period; 

 Attending births in hospitals, homes, medical offices, and freestanding birthing centers; 

 Providing ongoing care throughout pregnancy and hands-on care during labor, birth, 
and the immediate postpartum period; 

 Providing maternal and well-baby care for the six- to eight-week period following 
delivery; 

 Providing initial and ongoing comprehensive assessment, diagnosis, and treatment; 

 Recognizing abnormal or dangerous conditions requiring consultations with or referrals 
to other licensed health care professionals; 

 Conducting physical examinations; 

 Ordering and interpreting laboratory and diagnostic tests, including without a 
physician’s order.31 

Administering drugs 

For the purpose of engaging in the activities described above, the bill permits a licensed 
midwife to obtain and administer the following: 

 Antihemorrhagic agents, including tranexamic acid, pitocin, oxytocin, misoprostol, and 
methergine; 

 Intravenous fluids to stabilize the laboring or postpartum patient or as necessary to 
administer another drug authorized by this division; 

 Neonatal injectable vitamin K; 

 Newborn antibiotic eye prophylaxis; 

 Oxygen; 

 Intravenous antibiotics for group B streptococcal prophylaxis; 

 Rho (D) immune globulin; 

                                                      

30 R.C. 4723.483, 4723.484, 4723.4810, and 4723.4811. 
31 R.C. 4724.05. 
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 Local anesthesia; 

 Epinephrine; 

 A drug prescribed for the patient by a physician. 

A licensed midwife also may obtain, without a physician’s order, one or more supplies 
necessary to administer the foregoing drugs.32 

Prohibited activities 

The bill prohibits a licensed midwife from doing any of the following: 

 Administering cytotec or oxytocics, including pitocin and methergine, except when 
indicated during the postpartum period; 

 Using forceps or vacuum extraction to assist with birth; 

 Performing any operative procedures or surgical repairs other than the artificial rupture 
of membranes, episiotomies, first or second degree perineal, vaginal, or labial repairs, 
clamping or cutting the umbilical cord, and frenotomies.33 

The bill also specifies that it does not authorize a licensed midwife to prescribe, 
personally furnish, obtain, or administer any controlled substance or a drug or device to 
perform or induce an abortion.34 

Medical records 

The bill requires a certified midwife or licensed midwife to maintain appropriate medical 
records regarding patient history, treatment, and outcomes when the midwife engages in any 
of the activities permitted under the bill.35 

Collaboration and standard care arrangements 

The bill extends to a certified midwife the existing law requiring a certified nurse-
midwife to (1) practice in collaboration with one or more physicians and (2) enter into a 
standard care arrangement with each collaborating physician.36 

The bill maintains the existing law definition of “collaboration,” meaning that one or 
more physicians with whom the certified midwife has entered into a standard care 
arrangement are continuously available to communicate with the midwife either in person or 
by electronic communication. The bill also retains the current law definition of “standard care 

                                                      

32 R.C. 4724.05. 
33 R.C. 4724.05. 
34 R.C. 4724.05. 
35 R.C. 4723.57 and 4724.05. 
36 R.C. 4723.431 and 4723.57. 
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arrangement,” meaning a written, formal guide for planning and evaluating a patient’s health 
care that is developed by one or more collaborating physicians and a certified midwife.37 

Like a physician who collaborates with a certified nurse-midwife, the bill requires a 
physician collaborating with a certified midwife to enter into a standard care arrangement with 
the midwife.38 

Failure to maintain a standard care arrangement 

Under the bill, a certified midwife and collaborating physician each may be subject to 
professional discipline for the following: 

 In the case of a certified midwife, failing to maintain a standard care arrangement or 
practice in accordance with one; 

 In the case of a physician, failing to enter into a standard care arrangement with a 
certified midwife with whom the physician collaborates.39 

Informed consent 

The bill establishes a process by which a certified nurse-midwife, certified midwife, or 
licensed midwife, under certain circumstances, must obtain a patient’s informed consent. In the 
case of certified nurse-midwife or certified midwife, informed consent must be obtained in 
accordance with the bill’s process when providing treatment in a setting other than a hospital 
or facility. In the case of a licensed midwife, that process for obtaining consent must be 
followed before engaging in any of the activities permitted under the bill, including attending a 
home birth or providing care during a high-risk pregnancy.40 

When obtaining informed consent, the bill directs the midwife and patient to exchange 
in writing the following information: 

 The midwife’s name and license number; 

 The patient’s name, address, telephone number, and primary care provider, if the 
patient has one; 

 A description of the midwife’s education, training, and midwifery experience; 

 A description of the midwife’s peer review process; 

 The midwife’s practice philosophy; 

 A promise to provide the patient, upon request, with separate documents describing 
the rules governing the practice of midwifery, including a list of conditions indicating the 

                                                      

37 R.C. 4723.01. 
38 R.C. 4731.27. 
39 R.C. 4723.28 and 4731.22. 
40 R.C. 4723.58 and 4724.07. 
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need for consultation, referral, transfer, or mandatory transfer and the midwife’s 
personal written practice guidelines; 

 A written plan for medical consultation and transfer of care; 

 A description of any hospital care and procedures that may be necessary in the event of 
an emergency transfer or care; 

 A description of the services provided by the midwife to the patient; 

 That the midwife holds a current, valid license to practice; 

 The availability of a grievance process; 

 Whether the midwife is covered by professional liability insurance; 

 Any other information required in rules adopted by the Board. 

After the foregoing information has been exchanged and the patient consents to 
treatment, the bill requires the midwife and patient to sign a written document indicating the 
exchange and consent to treatment. The midwife must retain a copy of the document for at 
least four years. 

Home births and high risk pregnancies 

The bill requires the Board of Nursing and Department of Commerce to each adopt rules 
establishing the circumstances in which a certified nurse-midwife, certified midwife, or licensed 
midwife is prohibited from attending a home birth, including a high risk pregnancy.41 

In adopting the rules, the Board and Department must allow a midwife to attend a 
vaginal birth after cesarean (VBAC), birth of twins, or breech birth as a home birth, but only if 
the following conditions are satisfied: 

 The midwife obtains the patient’s written informed consent for the VBAC, birth of twins, 
or breech birth, including a description of risks associated with the procedure; 

 The midwife consults with a physician or other health care provider and together with 
the physician or provider determines whether referral is appropriate; 

 The midwife satisfies any other conditions required in rules adopted by the Board. 

At present, Ohio law prohibits a certified nurse-midwife – regardless of where a birth 
occurs – from delivering breech or face presentation, except in emergencies.42 

The bill also requires the Board and Department, when adopting the rules, to 
(1) consider any relevant peer-reviewed medical literature and (2) to specify the content and 
format of the document to be used when obtaining informed consent. In the case of the 

                                                      

41 R.C. 4723.581 and 4724.08. 
42 R.C. 4723.43. 
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Department, the bill requires it to also adhere to the recommendations of the Licensed 
Midwifery Advisory Council (see “Licensed midwifery advisory council” below). 

Note on referrals 

If a referral is determined to be appropriate and the patient consents to the referral, the 
certified nurse-midwife, certified midwife, or licensed midwife must refer the patient to the 
physician or other health care provider. If the patient refuses the referral, the certified nurse-
midwife, certified midwife, or licensed midwife must document the refusal and may continue to 
provide care to the patient, including attending the VBAC, birth of twins, or breech birth at 
home. 

Transfer of care plans and home births 

For any pregnancy in which a certified nurse-midwife, certified midwife, or licensed 
midwife provides care and a home birth is planned, the bill requires the midwife to create an 
individualized transfer of care plan with each patient.43 It also requires the midwife to assess 
the status of the patient, fetus, and newborn throughout the maternity care cycle and 
determine when or if a transfer to a hospital or facility is necessary. 

Under the bill, the transfer of care plan must contain all of the following information: 

 The name and location of geographically adjacent hospitals and other facilities that are 
appropriately equipped to provide emergency care, obstetrical care, and newborn care; 

 The approximate travel time to each hospital or facility; 

 A list of the modes of transport services available, including an emergency medical 
service organization available by calling 911; 

 The requirements for activating each mode of transportation; 

 The mechanism by which medical records and other patient information may be rapidly 
transmitted to each hospital or facility; 

 Each hospital’s or facility’s preferences regarding the registration of a patient prior to 
transfer as well as the hospital’s or facility’s procedures for confirming such a transfer; 

 Contact information for either a health care provider or practice group that has agreed 
in advance to accept patients in transfer, or a hospital’s or facility’s preferred method of 
accessing care by the hospital’s or facility’s designated provider on call; 

 Any other information required in rules adopted by the Board or Department. 

When it becomes necessary to transfer a patient, the midwife must notify the receiving 
provider, hospital, or facility of all of the following: the incoming transfer, the reason for the 
transfer, the planned mode of transport, the expected time of arrival, and any other 
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information required in rules adopted by the Board or Department. The midwife must also 
provide a brief relevant clinical history to the provider, hospital, or facility. 

While en route to the hospital or facility, the midwife must continue to provide routine 
or urgent care in coordination with any emergency medical services personnel or emergency 
medical service organization and must address the psychosocial needs of the patient during the 
change of birth setting. 

On arrival at the hospital or facility, the midwife is required by the bill to do all of the 
following: 

 Provide a verbal report that includes details on the patient’s current health status and 
the need for urgent care; 

 Provide a legible copy of relevant prenatal and labor medical records; 

 Transfer clinical responsibility to the receiving provider, hospital, or facility; 

 Satisfy any other requirement established in Board or Department rules. 

If the patient chooses, the midwife may remain at the hospital or facility to provide 
continuous support. The midwife also may continue to provide midwifery services, but only if 
the hospital or facility has granted the midwife clinical privileges. Whenever possible, the 
patient and her newborn must be together during the transfer and after admission to the 
hospital or facility. 

Time, place, and manner of delivery 

The bill specifies that its provisions do not abridge, change, or limit in any way the right 
of a parent to deliver the parent’s baby where, when, how, and with whom the parent chooses, 
regardless of the bill’s licensure requirements.44 

Adverse incidents 

Beginning July 1, 2025, the bill requires a certified nurse-midwife, certified midwife, and 
licensed midwife who attends a birth planned for a facility or setting other than a hospital to 
report any adverse incident, along with a medical summary of events, to the Ohio Perinatal 
Quality Collaborative within 15 days after the adverse incident occurs.45 In the case of a 
certified nurse-midwife or certified midwife, the adverse incident also must be reported within 
15 days to the Department of Health, while a licensed midwife must report to the Licensed 
Midwifery Advisory Council. Departments of Health and Commerce are each required to adopt 
rules governing the reporting of adverse incidents and to develop a form to be used when 
making reports.  
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For purposes of the bill, an adverse incident is defined as an incident over which a 
certified nurse-midwife, certified midwife, or licensed midwife could exercise control, that is 
associated with an attempted or completed birth in a setting or facility other than a hospital, 
and that results in one or more of the following injuries or conditions: 

 A maternal death that occurs during delivery or within 42 days after delivery; 

 The transfer of a maternal patient to a hospital intensive care unit; 

 A maternal patient experiencing hemorrhagic shock or requiring a transfusion of more 
than four units of blood or blood products; 

 A fetal or newborn death, including a stillbirth, associated with an obstetrical delivery; 

 A transfer of a newborn to a neonatal intensive care unit due to a traumatic physical or 
neurological birth injury, including any degree of a brachial plexus injury; 

 A transfer of a newborn to a neonatal intensive care unit within the first 72 hours after 
birth if the newborn remains in such unit for more than 72 hours; 

 Any other condition determined by Board or Department rule. 

Immunity from civil liability 

The bill specifies that emergency medical service personnel or an emergency medical 
service organization, hospital, facility, or physician that provides services or care following a 
certified nurse-midwife’s or certified midwife’s adverse incident or transfer of care is not liable 
in damages in a tort or other civil action for injury or loss to person or property allegedly arising 
from the services or care, unless provided in a manner that constitutes willful or wanton 
misconduct.46 

Annual reports 

The bill requires each certified nurse-midwife, certified midwife, or licensed midwife to 
report annually to the Department of Health or Licensed Midwifery Advisory Council the 
following information regarding cases in which the midwife provided services when the 
intended place of birth at the onset of care was in a facility or setting other than a hospital: 

 The total number of patients provided midwifery services at the onset of care; 

 The number of live births attended as a midwife; 

 The number of cases of fetal demise, newborn deaths, and maternal deaths attended as 
a midwife at the discovery of the demise or death; 
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emergency medical service personnel and organizations following adverse incidents or transfers of care 
by licensed midwives. 
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 The number, reason for, and outcome of each transport of a patient in the antepartum, 
intrapartum period, or immediate postpartum period; 

 A brief description of any complications resulting in the morbidity or mortality of a 
maternal patient or newborn; 

 The planned delivery setting and actual setting; 

 Any other information required by Department rule.47 

The bill also requires the Departments to adopt rules governing the annual reports and 
to develop a form to be used when making reports. 

For certified nurse-midwives and certified midwives, the requirement to submit annual 
reports takes effect on the date that is one year after the bill’s effective date, while for licensed 
midwives, the requirement becomes effective January 1, 2025.48 

Disciplinary actions 

Like the other professionals it regulates, the Board of Nursing may, under the bill, take 
disciplinary action against a certified midwife, including on the following grounds: 

 Impairment due to substance use or physical or mental disability; 

 Failing to prescribe drugs in accordance with the bill’s provisions; 

 Failing to practice in accordance with prevailing standards of safe midwifery care; 

 Engaging in activities that exceed those permitted under the bill. 

Disciplinary action may include revoking, suspending, or placing restrictions on a license, 
otherwise disciplining a license holder, and imposing a fine of not more than $500 per 
violation.49 

Note that the bill does not establish separate procedures for imposing discipline on 
certified midwives, instead relying on existing procedures used by the Board when imposing 
discipline on its current license and certificate holders, including certified nurse-midwives. 

In the case of licensed midwives, the bill requires the Department of Commerce to limit, 
revoke, or suspend an individual’s license to practice as a licensed midwife, refuse to issue, 
renew, reinstate, or restore a license, or reprimand or place on probation a holder’s license for 
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any reasons to be specified by the Department in rules.50 The rules also must address 
procedures for conducting disciplinary investigations.51 

Rulemaking authority 

Board of Nursing 

The bill requires the Board of Nursing to adopt rules establishing standards and 
procedures for the licensure and regulation of certified midwives, including those establishing 
license application and renewal procedures.52 The rules must be adopted in accordance with 
Ohio’s Administrative Procedure Act, or Chapter 119 of the Revised Code. 

The bill also authorizes the Board to adopt any other rules it considers necessary to 
implement and administer the bill’s provisions relating to certified midwives and certified 
nurse-midwives, including rules requiring the completion of criminal records checks or 
addressing licensure by endorsement. 

Department of Commerce 

The bill requires the Department to adopt rules, in accordance with Ohio’s 
Administrative Procedure Act, establishing all of the following: 

 Standards and procedures for applying for and renewing a license to practice as a 
licensed midwife and for reinstating or restoring an expired or inactive license to 
practice as a licensed midwife; 

 License application, renewal, reinstatement, and restoration fee amounts, with the 
application fee amount not to exceed $45 and the renewal fee amount not to exceed 
$20; 

 Standards and procedures for approving and successfully completing a course of study 
in breech births and a course of study in pharmacology; 

 Standards and procedures for approving certifying organizations, under the condition 
that such an organization’s certification requirements must meet or exceed those of the 
North American Registry of Midwives or International Registry of Midwives; 

 Grounds for taking disciplinary action against a licensed midwife; 

 Conditions that must be satisfied before the Department reinstates or restores an 
expired or inactive license; 

 Procedures for reporting license holder misconduct to the Department; 
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 Procedures for conducting disciplinary investigation.53 

The bill also authorizes the Department to adopt any other rules it considers necessary 
to implement and administer the bill’s provisions regarding licensed midwives, including rules 
requiring the completion of criminal records checks. 

Licensed Midwifery Advisory Council 

The bill creates the Licensed Midwifery Advisory Council within the Department of 
Commerce and requires it to advise and make recommendations to the Department regarding 
the practice and regulation of licensed midwives.54 The Council consists of the following nine 
members: 

 One certified nurse-midwife and one certified midwife or certified nurse-midwife, 
including, if applicable, the certified nurse-midwife or certified midwife appointed to the 
Board of Nursing; 

 Four licensed midwives, including one practicing in an urban setting and one serving a 
plain Amish or Mennonite community; 

 One physician who is board-certified in obstetrics and gynecology and with experience 
consulting with midwives who provide midwifery services in locations other than 
hospitals; 

 One physician who is board-certified in neonatal medicine and with experience 
consulting with midwives who provide midwifery services in locations other than 
hospitals; 

 One member of the public who has experience utilizing or receiving midwifery services 
in locations other than hospitals. 

With respect to the members who are certified midwives or licensed midwives, the bill 
requires each of them to obtain licensure as a certified midwife or licensed midwife not later 
than January 1, 2026. 

Appointments, vacancies, and organization 

The Department is charged with appointing the Council’s members. In doing so, it may 
solicit nominations for initial appointments and for filling any vacancies from individuals or 
organizations with an interest in midwifery services. If the Department does not receive any 
nominations or receives an insufficient number of nominations, it must appoint members and 
fill vacancies on its own advice. In the case of the Council’s physician appointments, if the 
Department does not receive any nominations for physicians with experience consulting with 
midwives who provide midwifery services in locations other than hospitals, the Department 
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must appoint physician members without such experience, but only if the Department 
determines that each physician otherwise satisfies the bill’s requirements for membership. 

The bill requires initial appointments to be made not later than ninety days after the 
bill’s effective date. Of the initial appointments, four are for three year terms and five are for 
four year terms. Thereafter, terms are for four years, with each term ending on the same day of 
the same month as did the term that it succeeds. 

Vacancies are to be filled in the same manner as appointments. When the term of any 
member expires, the Department must appoint a successor in the same manner as the initial 
appointment. Any member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the 
term for which the member’s predecessor was appointed is to hold office for the remainder of 
that term. A member is required to continue in office subsequent to the expiration date of the 
member’s term until the member’s successor takes office or until a period of 60 days has 
elapsed, whichever occurs first. Under the bill, a member may be reappointed. 

The bill requires the Council to organize by selecting a chairperson from among its 
members. The Council may select a new chairperson at any time. Four members constitute a 
quorum for the transaction of official business. Members serve without compensation but are 
to receive payment for their actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of 
official duties. The Department is responsible for Council expenses. 

Department duties 

The bill requires the Department to adhere to the Council’s advice and 
recommendations when adopting any rules governing the practice of licensed midwives, 
including rules to address the following: 

 Circumstances in which attending a home birth is prohibited; 

 Limitations on providing care during a high-risk pregnancy, including when a home birth 
is planned; 

 Adverse incident reporting and annual reporting; 

 Obtaining a patient’s informed consent; 

 Creating an individualized transfer of care plan. 

Board of Nursing membership 

The bill increases to 15 (from 13) the number of members of the Board of Nursing. Of 
the 15 members, two must be a certified nurse-midwife and a certified midwife, with one 
practicing in an urban setting and the other in a rural setting.55 
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Conforming changes 

Because the bill charges the Board of Nursing with licensing and regulating certified 
midwives, it makes conforming changes to the laws governing the Board and its existing 
regulation of other health professionals.56 
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56 R.C. 3701.351 (hospital staff membership), 4723.06 (Board powers and duties), 4723.07 (Board 
administrative rules), 4723.271 (replacement copies of licenses), 4723.282 (practice deficiencies and 
improvement), 4723.33 (protection against retaliatory actions), 4723.34 (reporting misconduct), 
4723.341 (immunity), 4723.35 (substance use disorder monitoring program), 4723.432 (cooperation in 
investigations), and 4723.91 (effect of child support default). 


