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SUMMARY 

Tax credits to assist beginning farmers 

 Authorizes a nonrefundable income tax credit for beginning farmers who attend a 
financial management program. 

 Authorizes a nonrefundable income tax credit for individuals or businesses that sell or 
rent farmland, livestock, buildings, or equipment to beginning farmers. 

 Requires the Department of Agriculture, and allows land grant state universities (the 
Ohio State University and Central State University), to certify individuals as beginning 
farmers. 

 Sunsets the credit on January 1, 2028. 

 Limits the total amount of tax credits awarded to $10 million. 

Tax increment financing  

 Allows a municipality to concurrently exempt improvements to the same parcel through 
both an incentive district tax increment financing (TIF) arrangement and a subsequent 
project or urban redevelopment TIF, if each exemption was authorized before March 1, 
2022. 

 Prescribes rules for allocating the exemption percentage, school district and county 
reimbursements, and service payment uses between the two TIF exemptions. 

 Requires that municipal TIFs created after March 1, 2022, terminate and replace any 
prior TIF exemption granted to the same parcel by the same municipality. 

 Establishes an alternative means by which a subdivision may effectuate notice to bind 
future owners of the property to TIF service payments. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA134-HB-95
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Property tax abatement 

 Provides a temporary period for a municipal corporation that acquired property from 
the state in 2020 to apply for abatement of unpaid taxes, penalties, and interest. 

Motor vehicle show sales 

 Generally expands the types of trucks that may be sold at certain motor vehicle shows 
to include motor vehicles that have a gross vehicle weight rating of 6,800 pounds or 
more. 

Federal school lunch appropriation 

 Appropriates $338 million of federal funds in FY 2022 for the federal school lunch 
program. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Tax credits to assist beginning farmers 

The act authorizes two income tax credits: one for beginning farmers who attend a 
financial management program and another for individuals or businesses that sell or rent 
farmland, livestock, buildings, or equipment to beginning farmers. 

Beginning farmers 

Before either credit may apply, an individual must first obtain certification as a 
beginning farmer. A beginning farmer is an individual who meets all of the following eligibility 
criteria: 

1. Intends to farm in Ohio, or has been farming in Ohio for less than ten years; 

2. Has a household net worth of less than $800,000, adjusted annually for inflation 
beginning in 2022; 

3. Provides the majority of the day-to-day labor for and management of the farm; 

4. Has adequate farming experience or demonstrates adequate knowledge about farming; 

5. Submits projected earnings statements and demonstrates a profit potential; 

6. Demonstrates that farming will be a significant source of the individual’s income; 

7. Participates in a financial management program approved by the Department of 
Agriculture; and 

8. Meets other requirements, which may be set by the Department of Agriculture. 

There are two ways for an individual to be certified as a beginning farmer. The first is to 
apply to the Director of Agriculture or a state university that is designated as a land grant 
institution under federal law (i.e., the Ohio State University or Central State University) and 
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demonstrate eligibility under the foregoing criteria. The second is to obtain a “substantially 
equivalent” certification from the U.S. Department of Agriculture. In either case, the 
certification is valid until the individual no longer meets the eligibility criteria.1 

Tax credit for participation in financial management program 

An individual who holds a valid beginning farmer certification and participates in an 
approved financial management program may apply to the Director of Agriculture for an 
income tax credit equal to the cost of attending the program. The application must include the 
name and address of the financial management program, the dates the beginning farmer 
participated, and the cost of attending. If the beginning farmer is eligible and if awarding the 
credit will not result in the overall cap being exceeded (see below), the Director must issue a tax 
credit certificate. 

The credit is nonrefundable, but if the credit amount exceeds the beginning farmer’s tax 
liability for the year in which it is claimed, the beginning farmer can carry forward the excess 
credit for up to three succeeding years. 

The Director must approve eligible financial management programs and maintain a list 
of approved programs on the Department of Agriculture’s website. The Director must consult 
with Ohio State and Central State Universities in formulating the list. A beginning farmer may 
also receive the credit for the cost of attending a financial management program approved by 
the U.S. Department of Agriculture.2 

Tax credit for the sale or rental of farm assets 

An individual or business that sells or rents “agricultural assets” to a beginning farmer 
may also apply to the Director of Agriculture for a tax credit. Agricultural assets include land, 
livestock, facilities, buildings, and machinery used in farming. In order for land to qualify as an 
agricultural asset, it must either total at least ten acres or produce an average annual income of 
at least $2,500 from farming. Equipment dealers and similar businesses that sell agricultural 
assets for profit are not eligible for the credit. 

The application must include the name of the beginning farmer, the date the sale or 
lease was made, and other financial information about the sale or lease. If the sale or lease is 
eligible and awarding the credit will not result in the overall credit cap being exceeded (see 
below), the Director must issue a tax credit certificate. The credit equals 3.99% of one of the 
following: 

1. In the case of a sale, the sale price; 

                                                      

1 R.C. 901.61(A) and (B); see also, NIFA Land-Grant Colleges and Universities (PDF), which is available by 
conducting a keyword “Land-Grant Colleges and Universities Map” search on the U.S. Department of 
Agriculture’s National Institute of Food and Agriculture’s website, nifa.usda.gov/document. 
2 R.C. 901.61(C) and (E), 5747.77(B), and 5747.98. 

https://nifa.usda.gov/sites/default/files/resource/LGU-Map-03-18-19.pdf
https://www.nifa.usda.gov/document
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2. In the case of a rental, the gross rental income that the individual or business received 
during the first three years of the rental agreement. To qualify for the credit, an asset 
must be rented at prevailing community rates. 

3. In the case of a rental through a share-rent agreement, the gross rental income received 
during the first three years of the share-rent agreement. (A share-rent agreement is an 
arrangement by which, in exchange for the rented assets, the beginning farmer provides 
the owner of the assets with a specified portion of the farm products produced from the 
assets.) 

In the case of a sale, the credit must be claimed in the year of the sale. In the case of a 
rental, the credit is claimed over the first three years of the rental or share-rent agreement. The 
credit is nonrefundable. However, if the credit amount exceeds the taxpayer’s liability for any 
year in which it is claimed, the taxpayer can carry forward the excess for up to seven years.3 

Cap and sunset 

The act prohibits the Director of Agriculture from issuing tax credit certificates on or 
after January 1, 2028. Additionally, the aggregate amount of tax credit certificates issued by the 
Director under the act must not exceed $10 million.4 

Effective date 

The credits may be claimed for taxable years beginning on or after July 18, 2022.5 

Tax increment financing 

Background 

Continuing law allows municipalities, townships, and counties to create a tax increment 
financing (TIF) arrangement to finance public infrastructure improvements. Through a TIF, the 
subdivision grants a real property tax exemption for a percentage of the incremental increase in 
the assessed value of designated parcels that are part of a development project. The owners of 
the parcels make payments in lieu of taxes to the subdivision equal to the amount of taxes that 
would otherwise have been paid with respect to the exempted portion of such improvements 
(referred to in this analysis as “service payments”). TIFs thereby create a flow of revenue back 
to the subdivision that created the TIF, which is generally used to pay the public infrastructure 
costs necessitated by the development project. In some circumstances, a subdivision granting a 
TIF exemption is required to use a portion of service payments to reimburse school districts, 
counties, or other taxing authorities for revenue forgone as a result of the TIF exemption. 

The three most common TIF arrangements, summarized below, are: (1) project TIFs, 
(2) incentive district TIFs, and (3) urban redevelopment TIFs. A municipal corporation, township, 

                                                      

3 R.C. 901.61(A) and (D), 5747.77(A), and 5747.98. 
4 R.C. 901.61(F). 
5 Section 3. 
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or county may create a project TIF or an incentive district TIF, whereas only a municipal 
corporation may create an urban redevelopment TIF.  

Project TIFs 

A project TIF exempts improvements to certain parcels of real property from taxation. A 
municipal corporation may create a project TIF for improvements to real property used for 
residential purposes under limited circumstances, but counties and townships may not do so 
for residential property.6 

Incentive district TIFs 

To create an incentive district TIF, a political subdivision establishes an “incentive 
district” in which a project is to be undertaken and exempts from taxation all improvements to 
parcels within that district. The incentive district must be an area that is 300 acres or smaller, 
has a continuous boundary, and has at least one of several “distress” characteristics 
enumerated in the statute, such as a high proportion of low-income residents, high 
unemployment, or “inadequate” infrastructure.7 

Urban redevelopment TIFs 

A municipal corporation may create an urban redevelopment TIF on land that it 
currently owns or once owned. An improvement to property is exempt if it was owned by the 
municipal corporation before the date of the ordinance creating the TIF and was leased or sold 
to any person either before or after adoption of the ordinance. The amount exempted is the 
increased value of the parcel after it is acquired by a municipal corporation engaged in urban 
redevelopment activities.8  

Concurrent municipal TIF exemptions 

The act allows a municipal corporation to concurrently exempt improvements to the 
same parcel through both an incentive district TIF and a subsequent project or urban 
redevelopment TIF, provided the ordinances authorizing both exemptions were adopted before 
March 1, 2022. The subsequent project or urban development TIF is referred to in this analysis 
as the “subsequent TIF.” 

Improvements eligible for only preexisting exemption 

With respect to improvements exempt under only the preexisting incentive district TIF, 
i.e., improvements that, if not for the TIF exemption, would first appear on the tax list after the 
effective date of the incentive district TIF and before the effective date of the subsequent TIF, 

                                                      

6 R.C. 5709.40(B), 5709.73(B), and 5709.78(A), not in the act. 
7 R.C. 5709.40(A)(5) and (C), 5709.73(C), and 5709.78(B), not in the act. 
8 R.C. 5709.41, not in the act.  
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the exemption percentage, any school district and county reimbursements, and the use of 
service payments are determined in accordance with only the incentive district TIF ordinance.9 

Improvements eligible for both exemptions 

With respect to improvements that are concurrently exempt under both the incentive 
district TIF and the subsequent TIF, i.e., improvements that, if not for the exemption, would 
first appear on the tax list after the effective date of the subsequent TIF, the percentage of 
improvements exempted equals the sum of the exemption percentages prescribed by the 
incentive district TIF ordinance and the subsequent TIF ordinance, up to 100% of the 
improvement’s value. For example, if the incentive district TIF exempts 50% of improvements 
and the subsequent TIF exempts 35% of improvements, the exemption percentage for the 
concurrently exempt improvements would be 85%. If both the incentive district TIF and the 
subsequent TIF exempt 100% of improvements, the exemption percentage for the concurrently 
exempt improvements would be 100%. 

Service payments collected for concurrently exempt improvements, net of any 
necessary school district and county reimbursements, are divided among the uses prescribed 
by the two TIF ordinances in accordance with priority rules prescribed by the act. The act 
generally prioritizes owner-filed and owner-consented TIFs over municipal-filed TIFs that have 
not been approved by the owner. If one of the TIF exemptions was filed with the owner’s 
consent and the other was not, the exemption approved by the owner is dominant. If both TIF 
exemptions were approved by the owner or were not, the most recent TIF is dominant. In 
either case, service payments must first be distributed and used in accordance with the 
dominant TIF ordinance and then, if the exemption percentage for the dominant TIF exemption 
is less than 100%, any remaining service payments are distributed and used in accordance with 
the subordinate TIF ordinance.10 

Cap on service payments 

The act provides that, in the event of concurrent TIF exemptions, the property owner’s 
service payment obligations may not exceed the amount of real property taxes that would 
otherwise have been due on the exempt improvements. This limitation does not apply to 
“minimum service payment obligations,” arising under a secondary agreement between the 
property owner and a subdivision guaranteeing future TIF service payment obligations against 
subsequent property tax exemptions.11 

Nonconcurrent municipal TIF ordinances 

The act prohibits concurrent exemptions under municipal TIF ordinances adopted on or 
after March 1, 2022. A municipal TIF established on or after that date must instead terminate 
and replace any prior TIF exemption the municipal corporation previously authorized for 

                                                      

9 R.C. 5709.916(C)(1). 
10 R.C. 5709.916(C)(2) and (D). 
11 R.C. 5709.916(C)(3); R.C. 5709.91, not in the act. 
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improvements to any parcel included in the TIF. The act specifies that a municipal TIF created 
before that date may terminate and replace prior TIF exemptions granted by the same 
municipal corporation if the ordinance clearly expressed that intent.12 

Notice of service payment obligations 

The act establishes an alternative means by which a county, township, or municipal 
corporation may effectuate notice that a property owner has consented to service payments 
required under a TIF ordinance or other similar agreement and, thereby, bind future owners of 
the property to those payments even if the property later qualifies for a non-TIF exemption.  

Continuing law allows either the property owner or a subdivision that adopts a TIF 
ordinance or resolution or that enters into an urban redevelopment or community 
redevelopment corporation agreement for similar TIF-like exemptions to file an exemption 
application under the arrangement. If the application for exemption is filed by the property 
owner or the property owner later files written notice consenting to the associated service 
payments, no other exemption may be granted with respect to the property without the 
consent of the subdivision that established the TIF or entered into the agreement. However, if 
the subdivision files the application for exemption without the property owner’s consent and 
the property later qualifies for a non-TIF exemption (for example, if the property is later used 
exclusively for charitable purposes), subsequent owners of the property are relieved of the 
obligation to continue making service payments. The owner of the property at the time the TIF 
is established or agreement is entered into is obligated to make the service payments or pay 
the service charges regardless of a future exemption.  

Under prior law, the property owner’s consent to the service payments was established 
only by filing notice with the county recorder of the county in which the property is located. 
The notice must identify the property and the current owner and state that the property, 
regardless of future use or ownership, remains liable for service payments until the terms of 
the TIF or other agreement have been satisfied. The act allows the subdivision or the property 
owner, in lieu of such notice, to file with the recorder an agreement, declaration, or covenant 
binding current and future owners of the property to the service payments.13 

Property tax abatement for certain municipal property 

The act establishes a temporary procedure by which a municipal corporation that 
acquired property from the state in 2020 may apply for a tax exemption and the abatement of 
more than three years of unpaid property taxes, penalties, and interest due on the property, 
provided the property qualifies for the exemption available under continuing law for public 
property used exclusively for public purposes.14 

                                                      

12 R.C. 5709.916(E). 
13 R.C. 5709.911. 
14 R.C. 5709.08, not in the act. 
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The application for exemption and abatement must be filed with the Tax Commissioner 
by July 18, 2023, and list the county in which the property is located; the property’s legal 
description; its taxable value; the amount of the unpaid taxes, penalties, and interest; the date 
of acquisition of title; the use of the property; and any other information required by the 
Commissioner.15 

Continuing law generally prohibits tax exemption of property with respect to which 
more than three years’ worth of taxes remain unpaid, even if the property otherwise qualifies 
for exemption.16 

Motor vehicle show sales 

The act alters the types of motor vehicles that a dealer may sell and a consumer may 
purchase at a motor vehicle show. A motor vehicle show is a display of new motor vehicles that 
lasts up to ten days and often involves multiple new motor vehicle dealers. The show typically is 
designed to allow the public an opportunity to compare and inspect a variety of makes and 
models simultaneously, to test drive vehicles, and to gain a greater understanding of the new 
technology and features of the vehicles. The Registrar of Motor Vehicles must authorize any 
show before it occurs.17  

Generally, motor vehicle dealers are prohibited from signing contracts, taking deposits, 
or consummating sales at the location of a motor vehicle show.18 However, continuing law 
exempts certain vehicles from the general prohibition, if all of the following apply: 

1. The motor vehicle show is being held as part of or in connection with a major livestock 
show; 

2. The licensed new motor vehicle dealers involved have complied with all of the general 
motor vehicle show statutory requirements; and 

3. The Registrar has granted permission for the motor vehicle show. 

The act generally expands the types of motor vehicles that may be sold at such a show. 
Prior law exempted towing trucks that have a gross vehicle weight (the unladen weight of a 
fully equipped motor vehicle) of more than three-quarters of a ton (1,500 pounds). Instead, the 
act authorizes the sale of motor vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 6,800 pounds or 
more.19  

                                                      

15 Section 6. 
16 R.C. 5713.081, not in the act. 
17 R.C. 4517.22(A)(5) and (B). 
18 R.C. 4517.22(C). 
19 R.C. 4517.22(J). A “gross vehicle weight rating” is the maximum weight while loaded at which a motor 
vehicle can safely operate as rated by its manufacturer. R.C. 4517.22(A)(2). 
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Practically speaking, the change updates the terminology to reflect the Federal Highway 
Administration’s current classification of trucks and motor vehicles based on their gross vehicle 
weight rating. Additionally, it expands the types of motor vehicles that an authorized dealer 
may sell at a motor vehicle show meeting the above criteria (e.g., it includes certain motor 
vehicles traditionally called “half-ton trucks”), and does not impact the trucks that were already  
authorized to be bought and sold at a motor vehicle show.20  

Federal school lunch appropriation 

The act appropriates $338 million of federal funds in FY 2022 to the Ohio Department of 
Education for the federal school lunch program.21 
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20 “What is a 3/4-ton Truck?“, MotorTrend, June 2, 2021.  
21 Sections 4 and 5. 

https://www.motortrend.com/features/what-is-three-quarter-ton-truck/

