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State Fiscal Highlights

e The state may collect at most a minimal amount of additional court cost revenue
annually that will be apportioned between certain state funds.!

Local Fiscal Highlights

e Local jurisdictions may experience a revenue gain from fines collected as a result of
individuals violating the bill's wireless device prohibitions.

!The state funds include: the Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0), the Victims of
Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020), the Drug Law Enforcement Fund (Fund 5ET0), and the Justice
Program Services Fund (Fund 4P60).

Vern Riffe Center @& 77 South High Street, Ninth Floor @iy Columbus, Ohio 43215-6136 j& Telephone (614) 466-3615
www.Isc.ohio.gov


http://www.lsc.state.oh.us/

Detailed Fiscal Analysis

The bill: (1) prohibits the use of an electronic wireless communications device
while operating any vehicle, as opposed to only a motor vehicle under current law, in
certain areas and (2) makes texting while operating a vehicle a primary, rather than
secondary, offense. A violation of either prohibition is a minor misdemeanor, which
carries a fine of not more than $150, and, for a minor, a license suspension of 60 days.

Traffic offenses

Use of an electronic wireless communications device

The bill prohibits the use of an electronic wireless communications device while
operating a vehicle on a street or highway in a school zone during restricted hours or in
a construction zone during hours of actual work within the zone. If enacted, these
prohibitions may result in an increase in the number of citations issued by law
enforcement officers. To the extent that additional citations are issued, there will be a
corresponding increase in the amount of fine, fee, and court cost revenue generated for
the state and political subdivisions. Any increase is likely to be minimal at most
annually and will vary based on the number of such citations issued by a given law
enforcement agency. This provision is not expected to result in significant additional
enforcement costs, as law enforcement agencies typically work school and construction
zones for speed violations as part of their routine operations.

Texting while driving

The bill makes texting while operating a vehicle a primary, rather than
secondary, offense.? Under current law, unchanged by the bill, a law enforcement
officer is not permitted to issue a citation for a secondary offense unless the officer also
cites the operator or passenger for an offense that is not a secondary offense. The Ohio
State Highway Patrol reported that its troopers issued 314 texting while driving
violations statewide in 2014; 31 were issued as primary enforcement offenses as the
person being cited was under 18 years of age.

The elevation to a primary offense would give a law enforcement officer the
authority to issue a citation for texting while operating a vehicle based solely on the fact
that the officer witnessed the commission of the offense. As a result, there may be an
increase in the number of texting while driving citations issued. To the extent that
additional citations are issued, there will be a corresponding increase in the amount of
tine, fee, and court cost revenue generated for the state and political subdivisions. The
magnitude of any increase is uncertain and would vary based on the number of
additional citations issued by a given law enforcement agency. As texting while driving

2 Under current law, if the person is under 18 a violation of the texting while driving prohibition is a
"primary traffic offense."




is already prohibited, this provision is not expected to result in any additional
enforcement costs.

Violation revenues

A driver found to have violated one of the bill's prohibitions is guilty of a minor
misdemeanor and required to pay a fine and a mix of state and local court costs and
fees. The fine, court costs for a moving violation, and fees generally are summarized in
the table below.

Fine, Fees, and Costs for a Violation of the Bill's Prohibitions

Financial Penalty Amount Paid by _
Component Violator RESPIEE @F AL
Fine Up to $150, minor ¢ Retained by county if violation of state law
n;lsdemeanlfrrlnel ¢ Retained by municipality or township if violation of local
that varies by local ordinance
jurisdiction . ) o
e Forwarded for deposit in state Security, Investigations,
and Policing Fund (Fund 8400) if violator cited by the
Ohio State Highway Patrol
Local court costs and fees | Varies by local Generally retained by the county or municipality with subject
jurisdiction matter jurisdiction over traffic violations
State court costs $37.50 Deposited in state treasury as follows:

e $25 to the Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0)
¢ $9 to the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020)
e $3.40 to the Drug Law Enforcement Fund (Fund 5ETO0)

e $0.10 to the Justice Program Services Fund (Fund 4P60)
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