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Governor DeWine vetoed S.B. 113 on July 9, 2021. Had it become law, its provisions

would have taken effect, been implemented, or required things to be done at different times,
generally in reference to its effective date. In Ohio, laws normally take effect on the 91 day
after they are signed by the Governor and filed with the Secretary of State.! To make this
analysis more comprehensible, the analysis uses July 9, the date S.B. 113 was vetoed, to
calculate what the dates in the act would have been if the Governor had instead signed the act
into law and filed it with the Secretary of State on that day. In that case:

The act’s effective date (the 91°t day) would have been October 8, 2021.
10 days after the act’s effective date would have been October 18, 2021.
100 days after the act’s effective date would have been January 16, 2022.
180 days after the act’s effective date would have been April 6, 2022.

260 days after the act’s effective date would have been June 25, 2022.

SUMMARY

Effective October 8, 2021 (if the act had been signed and filed on
the date it was vetoed), would have:

Established the Ohio Fire Code Rule Recommendation Committee to review the
Fireworks Law and make recommendations to the State Fire Marshal.

1 Ohio Constitution, Article Il, Section 1c.

September 8, 2021
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Extended a general moratorium on the issuance of new, and geographic transfer of
existing, fireworks manufacturer or wholesaler licenses from December 31, 2021, to
January 1, 2023.

Established a one-time license issuance date, outside of the normal fireworks
manufacturer and wholesaler licensing timeline, at the end of the new license
moratorium on January 1, 2023.

Increased from 5,000 to 10,000 square feet the maximum floor area of a retail sales
showroom that a licensed fireworks manufacturer or wholesaler uses to sell consumer
grade fireworks, but required expanded showrooms to be equipped with approved
sprinkler systems.

Required the State Fire Marshal to adopt rules regulating the time, manner, and location
of consumer fireworks use.

Created a new license allowing retailers to sell ground-based or hand-held sparklers
called “fountain devices.”

Required the State Fire Marshal to adopt rules for and enforce the new provisions for
fountain device retailers.

Effective January 16, 2022, would have:

Imposed a 4% fee on the retail sale of consumer grade fireworks.

Credited revenue from the new fee to fund firefighter training programs and the State
Fire Marshal’s regulation and enforcement of the fireworks industry.

Effective June 25, 2022, would have:

Allowed individuals to possess consumer-grade fireworks in Ohio, and eliminated a
requirement that purchasers transport consumer-grade fireworks out of the state within
48 hours of purchase.

Allowed any person authorized to possess consumer grade fireworks to discharge them
on:

O New Year’s Day;

O Chinese New Year;

o Cinco de Mayo;

O Memorial Day weekend;

O Juneteenth;

O July 3, 4, and 5, and the Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays preceding and following;
O Labor Day weekend,;

o Diwali;

O New Year’s Eve;
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O Any other legal holiday.

®  Permitted local governments to restrict the dates and times that individuals could
discharge consumer-grade fireworks or to ban them altogether.

®  Prohibited discharging fireworks (1) while in possession of, or under the influence of,
alcohol or a controlled substance, or (2) on another person’s property without
permission.

®  Prohibited the State Fire Marshal from unreasonably withholding a variance to allow
hobbyists to manufacture, possess, and use individual display-grade and consumer-
grade fireworks.

®  Required cause for revocation of a hobbyist variance.

®  Required hobbyists seeking variances to demonstrate that they could engage in the
hobby safely and legally.

® Limited hobbyists to possession of five pounds of raw materials and finished fireworks
produced through the hobby.

®  Required a licensed wholesaler, manufacturer, or retailer selling consumer grade
fireworks to have safety glasses available for free or at a nominal charge.

®  Required licensed fireworks wholesalers, manufacturers, and retailers to distribute a
safety pamphlet with certain minimum information to each consumer purchaser of

fireworks.
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Fire Code Rule Recommendation COMMILEEE ......ccoiviiiiiiiiiiiee ittt 4
Fountain device retailer lICENSES .......oovviii ittt e 5
GENEIAl [ICEBNSING PrOCESS .. uutiiiiiieeeie ettt e e e e e eeccrtre e e e e e eesseabtaeeeeeeeesessssraseseeeeeessasstsenneeeeesansnns 5
Special iCENSING CIFCUMISTANCES .....coociiiieeeee ettt e eeeetree e e e e e e esabrrrereeeeeeesesansseseseeeesennnns 6
Licensed fountain device retailer Operations........cccccoeecciiieeeiee e e 6
Rules for fountain device retailers ... 7
ENfOrCEmMENT QUENOTIEY .uvvieiiei it e et e e e e e e e e e aarrereeeeee e e e s nanreees 7
Geographic transfer MOratoriUm ... e e e et e e e e e e e enareeees 8
Fireworks license moratorium and one-time license pPeriod.........ccccceeeeeeeciinrieeeee e e 8
SNOWIOOM SIZE ...uiiiiiiiiiiee ettt et e st e e e sttt e e s s bt e e e s s bbeeeessabteeeseasbeeeeesassaaessnnsteeesanns 8
LICENSEE AISCIPIING «uvvvveeiieeiieitteeeee ettt eeee e e e e e e e ee bbb e e e e eeeeesesbsbaeeeaeeessessstrareseeessennnns 8
EXxemptions tO the fir@WOrKS [aW .....cooo e e e e e e e e 9
Lol =] Ty Y= = [ = Lol YRS 9
Y T =D =T g Y 14 o o TP PR 9
CoNSUMET-Brade fIFEWOIKS ....eeiiiiieiiiiieeiee ettt eerecrre e e e e e eessabbr e e e e e e e eeseanrseeeeeeeseeesnsnreens 9
Page |3 S.B. 113

As Passed by the General Assembly



Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office

Ohio residents: purchase and POSSESSION ......ccccevvrrrierieeeeeiiiiirereeeeeeeeeirrrer e e e eesesbrreeereeeeseenns 9

Out-of-state residents: purchase and POSSESSION.......cciiviriieiriiieeeeriiree e erree e e e e 10

8T T g Yo I =Y (] = T o PR 10

Display-grade fir@WOIKS ......cciiiiiieeeeee e e e s e e s e e e e e naaa e e e e nanees 11

LY o o] oY1 o AT o 1= PSR 12

ConsumMer-grade fir@WOIKS FEE .....uuiiiieiiiiee e e e s s e e e s sabaeeeeaes 12
DETAILED ANALYSIS

Fire Code Rule Recommendation Committee

The act would have created the Ohio Fire Code Rule Recommendation Committee to
review the Fireworks Law and make recommendations to the State Fire Marshal. At a
minimum, the Committee would have been required to make recommendations relating to all
of the following:

®  Fireworks manufacturer licensing and plant operation and fireworks wholesaler
licensing and operations;

®  The purchase of consumer-grade fireworks;

® The moratorium on licenses described in “Fireworks license moratorium,”
below;

®  The State Fire Marshal’s rulemaking as it pertains to building code requirements for
1.3G display-grade fireworks manufacturing facilities; and

®  Development of a licensing program for fireworks wholesalers and manufacturers.

The Committee was to meet periodically, with the first meeting not later than
October 18, 2021, and submit its report and recommendations to the State Fire Marshal not
later than January 16, 2022.

The Committee was to be made up of the following individuals:
1. The State Fire Marshal, or the State Fire Marshal’s designee;

2. Four local fire chiefs appointed by the Ohio Fire Chiefs’ Association, or appointed by the
Association’s designee;

3. A local police chief appointed by the Attorney General, or the Attorney General’s
designee;

4. Five members of the Ohio State Pyrotechnics Association, appointed by the president of
the Association, including a licensed wholesaler, a licensed exhibitor, and a licensed
manufacturer;

5. One member of Prevent Blindness Ohio, or the organization’s designee;
6. One member of the Ohio Optometric Association or the association’s designee;

7. One member of the Ohio Pyrotechnic Arts Guild or the guild’s designee;
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8.

9.

One representative of the Ohio Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics,
appointed by the chapter president;

One member of the Ohio Council of Retail Merchants or the council’s designee.?

Fountain device retailer licenses

The act would have created a new license for retailers who wish to sell what are called

fountain devices and permitted the State Fire Marshall to begin issuing those licenses in 2022.
Under the act, a “fountain device” would have been defined as a specific type of 1.4G
consumer grade firework that met all of the following criteria:

It is nonaerial and nonreport producing.

It is recognized and manufactured in accordance with sections 3.1.1 and 3.5 of APA
standard 87-1 (2001 edition).

It is a ground-based or hand-held sparkler with one or more tubes containing a
nonexplosive pyrotechnic mixture that produces a shower of sparks, with or without
additional effects that may include a colored flame, audible crackling effect, audible
whistle effect, or smoke.

It contains no more than 75 grams of the pyrotechnic mixture in any individual tube and
no more than 500 total grams of the mixture total in the case of multiple tubes.?

General licensing process

Generally, the act would have required prospective fountain device retailers to apply to

the State Fire Marshal by September 30, in any given year. An application would have been
required for each location at which the person wished to sell fountain devices, and would have
included:

A license fee, to be set by the State Fire Marshal at $25 or less;

An affidavit affirming that the applicant was in compliance with the National Fire
Protection Association’s standard “NFPA 1124, Code for the Manufacture,
Transportation, Storage, and Retail Sales of Fireworks and Pyrotechnic Articles (2006
Edition)” (NFPA 1124) or that they would be in compliance before engaging in the
storage and sale of fountain devices;

Proof of insurance in an amount and type specified in rules by the State Fire Marshal.

The State Fire Marshal would have been required to review timely submitted applications and
issue a license in response to each compliant applicant.

2R.C.3743.67.
3 R.C. 3743.01(H) and Section 4 and a conforming change in R.C. 3743.65(A).
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The act also would have established several general standards for licenses. First, licenses
were to be effective for one year, beginning on December 1. Second, licenses could only be
issued on that date. Third, the State Fire Marshal would have been required to send licensees a
written notice of expiration by September 1, annually. Fourth, the deadline to apply for renewal
would have been October 1.4

Special licensing circumstances

The act would have established two special licensing circumstances for fountain device
retailers. The first was a one-time license that would have been issued June 25, 2022, had the
act become law. Those licenses would have been effective through November 30, 2023.

The act’s second special licensing circumstance for fountain device retailers would have
applied to retailers that opened for business after the annual application deadline in any given
year. The act would have allowed those retailers to apply for a license any time between the
date they opened for business and the subsequent annual deadline. Licenses issued to those
retailers would have lasted a variable amount of time depending on when in the calendar year
they were issued.”

Licensed fountain device retailer operations

Licensed fountain device retailers would have been authorized, under the act, to
possess fountain devices and sell them at retail in compliance with NFPA 1124 and several
other requirements. Specifically:

®  Sales displays were to be limited to 300 square feet in total, with no display larger than
150 square feet, and all displays at least 25 feet from other highly flammable materials.

®  Retailers could only possess and sell fountain devices as packaged merchandise with
covered fuses.

®  Fountain devices displayed for sale were to be under visual supervision of an employee
or other responsible party during business hours.

®  The possession, storage, and sale of the devices would have been subject to any rules
adopted by the State Fire Marshal pursuant to the act (see “Rules for fountain
device retailers,” below).

®  Sales to children, and to individuals who were obviously drunk or under the influence of
a drug of abuse, would have been prohibited.

®  Sales from any structure or device outside of a licensed building, such as a tent or
trailer, would have been prohibited.

= Retailers would have been required to prohibit smoking in licensed locations.

4R.C.3743.26(A) and (B).
> R.C. 3743.26(C) and (D).
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®  Retailers would have been required to provide purchasers the pamphlet and the
opportunity to obtain safety glasses that the act required for other consumer-grade
fireworks sales. (See “Safety glasses and pamphlets required,” below.)®

Rules for fountain device retailers

The act would have required the State Fire Marshal to adopt rules for fountain device
retailers under the Administrative Procedure Act. The rules were to be designed to promote the
safety and security of employees, the public, and the sales premises, be consistent with the
Revised Code and NFPA 1124, and, at a minimum, were to address the following:

= With respect to buildings and other structures on a retailer’s premises:
O Cleanliness and orderliness;
O Heating, lighting, and use of stoves and flame-producing items;
O The availability of fire extinguishers or other fire-fighting equipment and their use;
O Emergency procedures.
®  Storage of fountain devices;
® |nsurance.

The State Fire Marshal would have been required to file the rules with the Joint
Committee on Agency Rule Review no later than April 6, 2022.”

Enforcement authority

The act would have granted the State Fire Marshal authority to inspect a fountain device
retailer’s premises, inventory, and retail sale records to ensure compliance with the Fireworks
Law and the State Fire Marshal’s rules. If an inspection were to reveal noncompliance, the State
Fire Marshal would have had discretion to do one or more of the following:

®  QOrder the retailer, in writing, to eliminate, correct, or otherwise remedy the issues by a
certain date;

®  QOrder the retailer, in writing, to immediately cease the storage and sale of fountain
devices; or

®  Revoke, or deny the renewal of, a license pursuant to the Administrative Procedure
Act.®

6 R.C. 3743.27 and 3743.99(G).
7 R.C. 3743.28.
8 R.C. 3743.29.
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Geographic transfer moratorium

The act would have extended until January 1, 2023, continuing law’s moratorium on the
geographic transfer of existing fireworks manufacturer and wholesaler licenses. The
moratorium is scheduled to expire on December 31, 2021.°

Fireworks license moratorium and one-time license period

The act would have extended until January 1, 2023, the general moratorium on the
issuance of fireworks manufacturer and wholesaler licenses for a particular plant or location.
The moratorium applies to all persons except those who possessed a license for that plant or
location immediately prior to June 29, 2001, and is set to expire on December 31, 2021.

The act also included a one-time license period for new fireworks manufacturers and
wholesalers to coincide with the end of the moratorium. Under the act, any person, not already
licensed, would have been able to submit an application by November 1, 2022, and receive a
license on January 1, 2023. A license issued at the end of the moratorium would have been
valid through November 30, 2023.%°

Showroom size

Under continuing law, a licensed manufacturer or wholesaler may sell consumer grade
fireworks only from a representative sample showroom or a retail sales showroom. A retail
sales showroom that first began to operate on or after June 30, 1997, must comply with
specified safety requirements, including a size limitation for the floor area to which the public
has access for retail purposes. The act would have increased the size limit from 5,000 square
feet to 10,000 square feet.

Fireworks showrooms that expanded beyond 5,000 square feet under the act would
have been required to implement a sprinkler system meeting a particular technical standard.
That is the standard for “extra hazard occupancies” under “NFPA 13, Standard for the
Installation of Sprinkler Systems (2019 Edition).”!

Licensee discipline

Continuing law allows the State Fire Marshal to revoke, or deny renewal of, a fireworks
manufacturer or fireworks wholesaler license if the licensee has violated the Fireworks Law or
the State Fire Marshal’s rules. The act included provisions that would have allowed suspension
of a license, as well.1?

9R.C. 3743.75(A)(2).

10R.C. 3743.021, 3743.041, 3743.151, 3743.171, and 3743.75(A) and (E).
11 R.C. 3743.25(C)(2)(a) and (b) and 3743.17.

12 R.C. 3743.08, 3743.21, 3743.60, and 3743.61.
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Exemptions to the fireworks law
Licensing variances

Continuing law allows the State Fire Marshal to grant variances to the Fireworks Law’s
prohibitions against the possession and use of pyrotechnic compounds to a person who
possesses those compounds for personal and noncommercial use as a hobby. The act would
have amended the variance provisions by:

= Defining “hobbyist activities” as the manufacture, possession, and use of individual
items, each of which meets the definition of either a 1.3G firework or 1.4G firework;

®  Limiting a variance holder to possession of five pounds, in total, of explosives,
pyrotechnics, or similar raw materials for, and finished 1.3G and 1.4G fireworks
manufactured during, hobbyist activities;

®  Establishing criteria for the issuance of a variance; and

®  Prohibiting the State Fire Marshal from unreasonably withholding a variance or revoking
a variance without cause.’3

Militia exemption

Under continuing law, the U.S. military and the militia of Ohio are exempt from the
Fireworks Law’s provisions regarding the manufacture, transportation, storage, and possession
of pyrotechnic devices. The act would have established that the state militia covered by the
exemption is the militia of the state that is recognized by the Adjutant General of Ohio.*

Consumer-grade fireworks
Ohio residents: purchase and possession

Under continuing law, “1.4G fireworks” are consumer grade fireworks designated under
division 1.4 of the U.S. Department of Transportation’s regulations.’® The act would have
eliminated, beginning June 25, 2022, the requirement that an Ohio resident who purchases
1.4G fireworks in Ohio must transport them out of the state within 48 hours. Under continuing
law, a purchaser may only obtain possession of consumer fireworks from a manufacturer or
wholesaler licensed under the Fireworks Law. The act would have added licensed fountain
device retailers to the list of approved sellers.1®

13R.C. 3743.59.
14 R.C. 3743.80.
15R.C. 3743.01.
16 R.C. 3743.45 and 3743.63(C) and (D).
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Out-of-state residents: purchase and possession

The act would have eliminated, beginning June 25, 2022, the requirement that an out-
of-state resident purchasing consumer fireworks transport them directly out of Ohio within
48 hours.Y

Use and regulation

Beginning June 25, 2022, the act would have allowed any person authorized to possess
consumer fireworks (both Ohio residents and nonresidents) to set those fireworks off in Ohio,
either on the person’s own property or on another person’s property with permission, on
specific days:

®  New Year’s Day;

®  Chinese New Year;

®  Cinco de Mayo;

®  Memorial Day weekend;

®  Juneteenth;

= July 3, 4, and 5, and the Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays preceding and following;
" Labor Day weekend;

= Diwali;

®" New Year’s Eve;

®  Any other legal holiday, as defined in continuing law.

Consumer fireworks set off in accordance with the act’s authorization would not be
considered a “public exhibition” and therefore not subject to additional state regulations for
public exhibitions, had the act become law.8

The act also would have required the State Fire Marshal to adopt rules regulating the
time, manner, and location of the use of consumer grade fireworks. The rules could not ban
discharge of consumer fireworks or be construed as a de facto ban. The rules could, however,
require that all fireworks be used in accordance with manufacturer’s instructions and provisions
for all of the following:

®  The use of aerial fireworks;

17R.C. 3743.44(A) and (B), 3743.63(A), and Section 3.

18 R.C. 3743.45(B) and (C), and Section 3, with conforming changes in R.C. 3743.04, 3743.17, 3743.63,
and 3743.65, and R.C. 1.14, not in the act.
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®  Separation distances between fireworks discharges, ignitions, or explosions and
adjacent structures, railroads, roadways, airports, publicly owned or controlled places,
and places where hazardous materials are manufactured, used, or stored;

®  Fireworks usage on common areas of multi-tenant properties;

®  The suspension of fireworks discharges, ignitions, or explosions during times of drought
or similar conditions;

®  The proximity of fireworks discharges, ignitions, or explosions to children;
®  Any other similar matters.

The act would have required the State Fire Marshal to file those rules with the Joint Committee
on Agency Rule Review by April 6, 2022.%°

While the act would have prohibited the State Fire Marshal’s rules from banning the
discharge of consumer grade fireworks, it would have permitted a county (with respect to its
unincorporated territory), township (with respect to its unincorporated territory), or municipal
corporation to restrict the dates and times that a person could discharge consumer fireworks,
or could impose a complete ban. Similarly, the act would not have prohibited the enforcement
of laws and ordinances regulating noise, disturbing the peace, and disorderly conduct.?°

Safety glasses and pamphlets required

Under the act, beginning June 25, 2022, any licensed retailer, licensed manufacturer, or
licensed wholesaler selling consumer grade fireworks, other than to a licensed manufacturer,
wholesaler, or exhibitor, would have been required to offer safety glasses for free at the point
of sale, or make them available to the purchaser for a nominal charge. The retailer,
manufacturer, or wholesaler also would have been required to provide purchasers with a safety
pamphlet with certain minimum information detailed in the act. Failure to do so would have
been a second degree misdemeanor.?!

Display-grade fireworks

Under continuing law, “1.3G fireworks” are display grade fireworks designated under
division 1.3 of the U.S. Department of Transportation’s regulations.?? The act would have
eliminated, beginning June 25, 2022, the requirement that a nonresident may possess display
fireworks in Ohio only while directly transporting them out of Ohio, and that the nonresident
do so within 48 hours of purchase. The act would have maintained, however, a criminal

19 R.C. 3743.451 and Section 3; and R.C. 3743.54, not in the act.
20 R.C. 3743.45(D) and (E) and 3743.45(B)(1).

21 R.C. 3743.27(B) and (C), 3743.47, 3743.60(K) and (L), 3743.61(K) and (L), and 3743.99(G) and
Section 3.

22 R.C. 3743.01.
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prohibition on a nonresident’s failure to transport display fireworks out of Ohio within
72 hours, a first degree misdemeanor.

The act also would have maintained requirements that individuals purchasing display-
grade fireworks do so only from licensed fireworks manufacturers and wholesalers, and that
manufacturers and wholesalers only sell display fireworks to persons who have an appropriate
license.?3

New prohibitions

The act would have prohibited, beginning June 25, 2022, any person from negligently
using fireworks while in possession or control of, or under the influence of, any intoxicating
liguor, beer, or controlled substance. A violation would have been a first degree misdemeanor.

Additionally, the act would have prohibited, beginning June 25, 2022, any person from
negligently discharging, igniting, or exploding fireworks on another person’s property without
that person’s permission. A violation would have been a minor misdemeanor.?*

Consumer-grade fireworks fee

For the purpose of providing revenue to fund training programs and the enforcement
and regulation of the fireworks industry, the act would have imposed a fee on licensed
retailers, licensed manufacturers, and licensed wholesalers selling consumer-grade fireworks.
The fee would have been 4% of each licensed retailer’s, manufacturer’s, and wholesaler’s gross
receipts from the retail sale of consumer-grade fireworks beginning January 16, 2022. (The act
excluded from “gross receipts” sales tax the retailer, manufacturer, or wholesaler collects on
behalf of the state or local governments.)

While the act would have required licensed retailers, manufacturers, and wholesalers to
remit the fee to the State Fire Marshal, it also allowed them to separately or proportionately
bill or invoice the fee to others.

The fee’s proceeds were to be credited to the Fireworks Fee Receipts Fund. The State
Fire Marshal would have been required to use ’/3 of the money in the fund for firefighter
training programs, with the remainder directed to administrative expenses related to the
Fireworks Law.?®

The act also granted the State Fire Marshal fee-related enforcement authority. Under
the act, if the State Fire Marshal determined that a licensee had failed to timely report and
remit the fee due, the State Fire Marshal could either:

®  Order the licensee to report and remit the fee within a specified timeframe; or

23 R.C. 3743.44, 3743.63(A) and (B), and 3743.99(C), conforming change in R.C. 3743.45(B).
24 R.C. 3743.65(G) and (H) and 3743.99(F) and (H).
25 R.C. 3743.22(A) to (C).
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®  Revoke or deny renewal of the license, which would require the licensee to immediately
cease operations and prohibit the licensee from applying for new licenses for two years.

The State Fire Marshal also would have been permitted to adopt rules necessary to administer
and enforce the fee.?®
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