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SUMMARY

Normal effective date (915t day after filed with Secretary of
State):

Establishes the Ohio Fire Code Rule Recommendation Committee to review the
Fireworks Law and make recommendations to the State Fire Marshal.

Extends a general moratorium on the issuance of new, and geographic transfer of
existing, fireworks manufacturer or wholesaler licenses from December 31, 2021, to
January 1, 2023.

Establishes a one-time license application and issuance date, outside of the normal
fireworks manufacturer and wholesaler licensing timeline, at the end of the new license
moratorium.

Increases from 5,000 to 10,000 square feet the maximum floor area of a retail sales
showroom that a licensed fireworks manufacturer or wholesaler uses to sell consumer
grade fireworks, but requires expanded showrooms to be equipped with sprinkler
systems.

Requires the State Fire Marshal to adopt rules regulating the time, manner, and location
of consumer fireworks use.

Creates a new license allowing retailers to sell ground-based or hand-held sparklers
called “fountain devices,” which the State Fire Marshal may begin to issue in 2022.

* This analysis was prepared before the report of the House Commerce and Labor Committee appeared
in the House journal. Note that the legislative history is incomplete.
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Requires the State Fire Marshal to adopt rules for and enforce the new provisions for
fountain device retailers.

Imposes a 4% fee on the retail sale of consumer grade fireworks, beginning 100 days
after the bill’s effective date.

Credits revenue from the new fee to fund firefighter training programs and the State
Fire Marshal’s regulation and enforcement of the fireworks industry.

Effective 351 days after filed with Secretary of State:

Allows individuals to possess consumer-grade fireworks in Ohio, eliminating a
requirement that purchasers transport consumer-grade fireworks out of the state within
48 hours of purchase.

Allows any person authorized to possess consumer grade fireworks to discharge them
on their own property or on another person’s property with permission on the following
days:

New Year’s Day;
Chinese New Year;
Cinco de Mayo;
Memorial Day weekend;

Juneteenth;

O o o o o O

July 3, 4, and 5, and the Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays preceding and following;

O

Labor Day weekend,;

o Diwali;

O New Year’s Eve;

O Any other legal holiday.

Permits local governments to restrict the dates and times that individuals may discharge
consumer-grade fireworks or to impose a complete ban on the use of consumer-grade
fireworks.

Prohibits discharging fireworks (1) while in possession of, or under the influence of,
alcohol or a controlled substance, or (2) on the property of another without the
property owner’s permission.

Prohibits the State Fire Marshal from unreasonably withholding a variance that would
allow hobbyists to manufacture, possess, and use individual display-grade and
consumer-grade fireworks and requires cause for revocation of a hobbyist variance.

Requires hobbyists seeking variances to demonstrate that they can engage in the hobby
safely and legally and limits hobbyists to possession of five pounds of raw materials and
finished fireworks produced through the hobby.
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®  Requires a licensed wholesaler, manufacturer, or retailer who is selling consumer grade
fireworks to have safety glasses available for free or at a nominal charge.

" Requires licensed fireworks wholesalers, manufacturers, and retailers to distribute a
safety pamphlet with certain minimum information to each consumer purchaser of

fireworks.
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DETAILED ANALYSIS

Fire Code Rule Recommendation Committee

The bill creates the Ohio Fire Code Rule Recommendation Committee to review the
Fireworks Law and make recommendations to the State Fire Marshal. At a minimum, the
Committee must make recommendations relating to all of the following:

®  Fireworks manufacturer licensing and plant operation and fireworks wholesaler
licensing and operations;
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®  The purchase of consumer-grade fireworks;

® The moratorium on licenses described in “Fireworks license moratorium,”
below;

®  The State Fire Marshal’s rulemaking as it pertains to building code requirements for
1.3G display-grade fireworks manufacturing facilities;

®  Development of a licensing program for fireworks wholesalers and manufacturers.

The Committee must meet periodically, with the first meeting not later than ten days
after the bill’s effective date. It must submit its report and recommendations to the State Fire
Marshal not later than 100 days after the bill’s effective date.

The Committee is to be made up of the following individuals:
1. The State Fire Marshal, or the State Fire Marshal’s designee;

2. Four local fire chiefs appointed by the Ohio Fire Chiefs’ Association, or appointed by the
Association’s designee;

3. A local police chief appointed by the Attorney General, or the Attorney General’s
designee;

4. Five members of the Ohio State Pyrotechnics Association, appointed by the president of
the Association, one of whom must be a licensed wholesaler, one of whom must be a
licensed exhibitor, and one of whom must be a licensed manufacturer;

One member of Prevent Blindness Ohio, or the organization’s designee;
One member of the Ohio Optometric Association or the association’s designee;

One member of the Ohio Pyrotechnic Arts Guild or the guild’s designee;

© N o W

One representative of the Ohio Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics,
appointed by the chapter president;

9. One member of the Ohio Council of Retail Merchants or the council’s designee.!
Fountain device retailer licenses

The bill creates a new license for retailers who wish to sell what are called fountain
devices and permits the State Fire Marshall to begin issuing those licenses in 2022. Under the
bill, a “fountain device” is defined as a specific type of 1.4G consumer grade firework that
meets all of the following criteria:

® |t is nonaerial and nonreport producing;

® |t is recognized and manufactured in accordance with sections 3.1.1 and 3.5 of APA
standard 87-1 (2001 edition);

1R.C. 3743.67.
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" |t is a ground-based or hand-held sparkler with one or more tubes containing a
nonexplosive pyrotechnic mixture that produces a shower of sparks, with or without
additional effects that may include a colored flame, audible crackling effect, audible
whistle effect, or smoke;

® |t contains no more than 75 grams of the pyrotechnic mixture in any individual tube and
no more than 500 total grams of the mixture total in the case of multiple tubes.?

General licensing process

Generally, the bill requires persons who wish to be licensed as fountain device retailers
to apply to the State Fire Marshal by September 30, in any given year. An application must be
submitted for each location at which the person wishes to sell fountain devices, and must
include:

= Alicense fee, to be set by the State Fire Marshal at $25 or less;

® An affidavit affirming that the applicant is in compliance with the National Fire
Protection Association’s standard “NFPA 1124, Code for the Manufacture,
Transportation, Storage, and Retail Sales of Fireworks and Pyrotechnic Articles (2006
Edition)” (NFPA 1124) or that they will be in compliance before engaging in the storage
and sale of fountain devices;

®  Proof of insurance in an amount and type specified in rules by the State Fire Marshal.

The bill requires the State Fire Marshal to review timely submitted applications and determine
if they comply with its requirements. If an application is compliant, the State Fire Marshal must
issue a license.

The bill also establishes several general standards for licenses. First, licenses are
effective for one year, beginning on December 1. Second, licenses can only be issued on that
date. Third, the State Fire Marshal must send licensees a written notice of expiration by
September 1, annually. Fourth, licensees must apply for renewal by October 1 of the year the
license expires.?

Special licensing circumstances

The bill establishes two special licensing circumstances for fountain device retailers. The
first is a one-time license that starts 260 days after the bill’s effective date. Any person wishing
to be licensed as a retailer of fountain devices on that date must submit an application by the
date that is 190 days after the bill’s effective date. If an application is received by the deadline,
and if the State Fire Marshal determines that it meets the bill’s licensing requirements, the
State Fire Marshal must issue a license 260 days after the bill’s effective date.

2 R.C. 3743.01(H) and Section 4.
3 R.C. 3743.26(A) and (B).
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The effective period of those licenses depends on the date they are ultimately issued. If
the 260%™ day after the bill’s effective date falls anytime January through May, the licenses will
be effective through the end of November during the same calendar year. If it falls June
through December, the licenses will be effective through the last day of November in the
subsequent calendar year.

The second special licensing circumstance for fountain device retailers under the bill
applies to retailers that open for business after the annual application deadline in any given
year. The bill allows those retailers to apply for a license any time between the date they open
for business and the subsequent annual deadline. If an application is received under this
provision between October 1 and November 30, and meets the bill’s requirements for fountain
device retailers, the State Fire Marshal is required to issue a license no earlier than December 1
and no later than two months after the application is received. If a compliant application is
received at any other time pursuant to the provision, the State Fire Marshal is required to issue
the license no later than two months after the application is received.*

Licensed fountain device retailer operations

Licensed fountain device retailers are authorized, under the bill, to possess fountain
devices and sell them at retail. Possession and storage of the devices, though, must comply
with NFPA 1124 and several other requirements. Those are:

" Sales displays are limited to 300 square feet in total, with no display larger than 150
square feet, and all displays at least 25 feet from other highly flammable materials.

®  Retailers may only possess and sell fountain devices as packaged merchandise with
covered fuses.

®  Fountain devices displayed for sale must be under visual supervision of an employee or
other responsible party whenever the retailer is open to the public.

" The possession, storage, and sale of the devices must also comply with any rules
adopted by the State Fire Marshal pursuant to the bill (see “Rules for fountain
device retailers,” below).

®  Sales are restricted to purchasers who are at least 18 years old.

®  Sales are prohibited to individuals who are obviously drunk or under the influence of a
drug of abuse.

" All sales must be conducted from the licensed location and be made inside of a licensed
building. Sales from any structure or device outside of a licensed building, such as a tent
or trailer, are prohibited.

®  Retailers must prohibit smoking in the licensed location.

4R.C. 3743.26(C) and (D).
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Purchasers must be provided with the pamphlet and the opportunity to obtain safety
glasses that the bill requires for other consumer-grade fireworks sales. (See “Safety
glasses and pamphlets required,” below.)®

Rules for fountain device retailers

The bill requires the State Fire Marshal to adopt rules for fountain device retailers under

the Administrative Procedure Act. The rules must be designed to promote the safety and
security of employees, the public, and the premises from which fountain devices are sold, be
consistent with the Revised Code and NFPA 1124, and, at a minimum, address the following:

With respect to buildings and other structures on a retailer’s premises:

O Cleanliness and orderliness;

O Heating, lighting, and use of stoves and flame-producing items;

O The availability of fire extinguishers or other fire-fighting equipment and their use;
O Emergency procedures.

Storage of fountain devices;

Insurance.

The bill requires the State Fire Marshal to file the rules with the Joint Committee on

Agency Rule Review no later than 180 days after its effective date.®

Enforcement authority

The bill grants the State Fire Marshal authority to inspect a fountain device retailer’s

premises, inventory, and retail sale records to ensure compliance with the Fireworks Law and
the State Fire Marshal’s rules. If an inspection reveals noncompliance, the State Fire Marshal
has discretion to do one or more of the following:

Order the retailer, in writing, to eliminate, correct, or otherwise remedy the issues by a
certain date;

Order the retailer, in writing, to immediately cease the storage and sale of fountain
devices.

Revoke, or deny the renewal of a license pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act.
If a license is revoked, the State Fire Marshal must remove the retailer’s name from the
list of licensed retailers and must notify local law enforcement of a revocation or refusal
to renew.’

> R.C. 3743.27 and 3743.99(G).
6R.C. 3743.28.
7 R.C. 3743.29.
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Geographic transfer moratorium

The bill extends current law’s moratorium on the geographic transfer of existing
fireworks manufacturer and wholesaler licenses, which is currently scheduled to expire on
December 31, 2021. Under the bill, this moratorium will expire on January 1, 2023.2

Fireworks license moratorium and one-time license period

The bill extends a general moratorium on the issuance of fireworks manufacturer and
wholesaler licenses for a particular plant or location. Under current law, the moratorium
applies to all persons except those who possessed a license for that plant or location
immediately prior to June 29, 2001, and expires on December 31, 2021. The bill extends the
moratorium until January 1, 2023, and allows renewal of licenses that were geographically
transferred under exceptions to the transfer moratorium enacted in the 2021 Transportation
Budget.

To coincide with the end of the moratorium, the bill establishes a one-time license
period for new fireworks manufacturers and wholesalers. Any person who wishes to be a
licensed manufacturer or wholesaler of fireworks on January 1, 2023, and who does not already
hold a license that will run through that date, may submit an application by November 1, 2022.
If the application meets the requirements for licensure, the State Fire Marshal must issue a
license on January 1, 2023.

Licenses issued at the end of the moratorium will run through November 30, 2023. The
issuance date and license period are a departure from continuing law’s normal requirements,
which only allow fireworks manufacturer and wholesaler licenses to be issued on the first day
of December, with a one-year duration.

Finally, the bill specifically states that after the moratorium expires, the State Fire
Marshal may issue new fireworks manufacturer and wholesaler licenses, but those licenses
must not be approved in a manner that unduly burdens the State Fire Marshal’s ability to
ensure public safety.’

Showroom size

Under continuing law, a licensed manufacturer or wholesaler may sell consumer grade
fireworks only from a representative sample showroom or a retail sales showroom. If a retail
sales showroom is used (and first began to operate on or after June 30, 1997), the showroom
structure must comply with specified safety requirements, including a size limitation for the
floor area to which the public has access for retail purposes. The bill increases the size limit
from 5,000 square feet to 10,000 square feet in floor area.

The bill also requires fireworks showrooms that expand beyond 5,000 square feet under
its provisions to be equipped with a sprinkler system meeting a particular technical standard.

8 R.C. 3743.75(A)(2).
9R.C.3743.021, 3743.041, 3743.151, 3743.171, and 3743.75(A) and (E).
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That is the standard for “extra hazard occupancies” under “NFPA 13, Standard for the
Installation of Sprinkler Systems (2019 Edition).1°

Licensee discipline

Current law allows the State Fire Marshal to revoke, or deny renewal of, a fireworks
manufacturer or fireworks wholesaler license if the licensee has violated the Fireworks Law or
the State Fire Marshal’s rules. The bill adds provisions allowing suspension of a license, but
leaves the State Fire Marshal’s ability to revoke, or deny renewal of, a license in place.!

Exemptions to the fireworks law
Licensing variances

Current law allows the State Fire Marshal to grant variances to the Fireworks Law’s
prohibitions against the possession and use of pyrotechnic compounds to a person who
possesses those compounds for personal and noncommercial use as a hobby. The bill amends
the variance provisions by defining “hobbyist activities,” limiting the amount of materials a
variance allows, adding requirements for variance applications, and limiting the State Fire
Marshal’s ability to deny and revoke variances.

The bill defines “hobbyist activities” as the manufacture, possession, and use of
individual items, each of which meets the definition of either a 1.3G firework or 1.4G firework.
The bill also limits a variance holder to possession of five pounds, in total, of explosives,
pyrotechnics, or similar raw materials for, and finished 1.3G and 1.4G fireworks manufactured
during, hobbyist activities.

A person seeking a variance under the bill’s new provisions must do all of the following:

®  Demonstrate that they have the experience, education, and training necessary to
protect public safety when engaging in hobbyist activities;

®  Demonstrate that the person has a safe and legal way to acquire, store, and use
explosives, pyrotechnics, and similar raw materials for the manufacture of fireworks;

®  Provide any other information or records the State Fire Marshal considers necessary to
protect public safety during a person’s hobbyist activities.

Finally, the bill prohibits the State Fire Marshal from unreasonably withholding a
variance, beginning 260 days after the bill’s effective date. It also changes the State Fire
Marshal’s authority to revoke such a variance, which is discretionary under current law, by
requiring cause for revocation.?

10 R.C. 3743.25(C)(2)(a) and (b) and 3743.17.
11 R.C.3743.08, 3743.21, 3743.60, and 3743.61.
12 R.C. 3743.59(C).
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Militia exemption

Under continuing law, the U.S. military and the militia of Ohio are exempt from the
Fireworks Law’s provisions regarding the manufacture, transportation, storage, and possession
of pyrotechnic devices. The bill establishes the state militia covered by the exemption is the
militia of the state that is recognized by the Adjutant General of Ohio.*3

Consumer-grade fireworks
State residents: purchase and possession

Under continuing law, “1.4G fireworks” are consumer grade fireworks designated under
division 1.4 of the U.S. Department of Transportation’s regulations.** The bill continues to allow
Ohio residents to possess consumer fireworks but eliminates, beginning 260 days after the bill’s
effective date, the requirement that an Ohio resident who purchases these fireworks must
transport the fireworks out of Ohio within 48 hours after the purchase. Under current law, a
purchaser may only obtain possession of consumer fireworks from a manufacturer or
wholesaler licensed under the Fireworks Law. The bill adds licensed fountain device retailers to
that list.?

Out-of-state residents: purchase and possession

The bill eliminates, beginning 260 days after its effective date, the current law
requirement that an out-of-state resident purchasing consumer fireworks must transport them
directly out of Ohio within 48 hours.®

Use and regulation

Beginning 260 days after the bill’s effective date, any person who is authorized to
possess consumer fireworks under the bill (both Ohio residents and nonresidents) may set
those fireworks off in Ohio, either on the person’s own property or on another person’s
property with permission, on specific days. Those days are:

" New Year’s Day;

®  Chinese New Year;

®  Cinco de Mayo;

®  Memorial Day weekend;
® Juneteenth

= July 3, 4, and 5, and the Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays preceding and following;

13R.C. 3743.80.

14R.C. 3743.01.

15 R.C. 3743.45 and 3743.63(C) and (D).

16 R.C. 3743.44(A) and (B), 3743.63(A), and Section 3.

Page |10 S.B. 113
As Reported by House Commerce and Labor



Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office

®  |labor Day weekend;

®  Diwali;

®" New Year’s Eve;

®  Any other legal holiday, as defined in current law.

Consumer fireworks set off in accordance with this authorization are not considered a
“public exhibition” and are therefore not subject to additional state regulations pertaining to
public exhibitions.’

The bill also requires State Fire Marshal to adopt rules regulating the time, manner, and
location of consumer grade fireworks. The rules must permit adult consumers to safely and
responsibly use consumer grade fireworks on their own property or on property where they
have the owner’s express permission, and are not to be construed as a de facto ban on such
use. The rules may, however, include provisions requiring that all fireworks be used only in
accordance with manufacturer’s instructions and provisions for all of the following:

®  The use of aerial fireworks;

®  Separation distances between fireworks discharges, ignitions, or explosions and
adjacent structures, railroads, roadways, airports, publicly owned or controlled places,
and places where hazardous materials are manufactured, used, or stored;

"  Fireworks usage on common areas of multi-tenant properties;

®  The suspension of fireworks discharges, ignitions, or explosions during times of drought
or similar conditions;

"  The proximity of fireworks discharges, ignitions, or explosions to children;
®  Any other similar matters.

The bill requires the State Fire Marshal to file those rules with the Joint Committee on Agency
Rule Review no later than 180 days after its effective date.!®

While the bill prohibits the State Fire Marshal’s rules from banning the discharge of
consumer grade fireworks, it specifically permits a county (with respect to its unincorporated
territory), township (with respect to its unincorporated territory), or municipal corporation to
restrict the dates and times that a person may discharge consumer fireworks or impose a
complete ban. The bill also specifies that a resolution to this effect adopted by a board of
township trustees prevails over a conflicting resolution adopted by the board of county
commissioners in the county within which the township is located. The consumer fireworks

17 R.C. 3743.45(B) and (C), and Section 3, with conforming changes in R.C. 3743.04, 3743.17, 3743.63,
and 3743.65, and R.C. 1.14, not in the bill.

18 R.C. 3743.451 and Section 3; and R.C. 3743.54, not in the bill.
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changes in the bill do not limit the enforcement of an ordinance, resolution, or statute that
regulates noise, disturbance of the peace, or disorderly conduct.*®

Safety glasses and pamphlets required

Beginning 260 days after the bill’s effective date, any licensed retailer, licensed
manufacturer, or licensed wholesaler selling consumer grade fireworks, other than to a licensed
manufacturer, wholesaler, or exhibitor, must offer safety glasses for free at the point of sale, or
make them available to the purchaser for a nominal charge. The retailer, manufacturer, or
wholesaler must also provide purchasers with a safety pamphlet that contains certain minimum
information detailed in the bill.

A licensed retailer, manufacturer, or wholesaler who fails to comply with the bill’s
pamphlet or safety glasses requirement is guilty of a second degree misdemeanor.2°

Display-grade fireworks

Under continuing law, “1.3G fireworks” are display grade fireworks designated under
division 1.3 of the U.S. Department of Transportation’s regulations.?! The bill eliminates,
beginning 260 days after its effective date, the requirement that a nonresident may possess
display fireworks in Ohio only while directly transporting the fireworks out of Ohio, and that the
nonresident do so within 48 hours of purchase. The bill maintains, however, a criminal
prohibition on a nonresident’s failure to transport display fireworks out of Ohio within
72 hours, a first degree misdemeanor.

The bill also maintains requirements that individuals purchasing display-grade fireworks
do so only from licensed fireworks manufacturers and wholesalers and that manufacturers and
wholesalers only sell display fireworks to persons who have an appropriate license.?? (See
COMMENT.)

New prohibitions

The bill prohibits, beginning 260 days after its effective date, any person from
negligently using fireworks while in possession or control of, or under the influence of, any
intoxicating liquor, beer, or controlled substance. A person who violates this prohibition is guilty
of a first degree misdemeanor. The bill also specifies that, regardless of any other law that
specifies otherwise, a person may be convicted of both that violation and a disorderly conduct
violation for the same underlying conduct.

19R.C. 3743.45(D) and (E).

20 R.C. 3743.27(B) and (C), 3743.47, 3743.60(K) and (L), 3743.61(K) and (L), and 3743.99(G) and
Section 3.

21 R.C. 3743.01.
22 R.C. 3743.44, 3743.63(A) and (B), and 3743.99(C), conforming change in R.C. 3743.45(B).
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Additionally, the bill prohibits, beginning 260 days after its effective date, any person
from negligently discharging, igniting, or exploding fireworks on another person’s property
without that person’s permission. A person who violates this prohibition is guilty of a minor
misdemeanor.?3

Consumer-grade fireworks fee

For the purpose of providing revenue to fund training programs and the enforcement
and regulation of the fireworks industry, the bill imposes a fee on licensed retailers, licensed
manufacturers, and licensed wholesalers selling consumer-grade fireworks. The fee is set at 4%
of each licensed retailer’s, manufacturer’s, and wholesaler’s gross receipts from the retail sale
of consumer-grade fireworks beginning 100 days after the bill’s effective date. The bill excludes
from “gross receipts” sales tax the retailer, manufacturer, or wholesaler collects on behalf of
the state or local governments.

The bill requires retailers, manufacturers, and wholesalers to annually report and remit
the fee to the State Fire Marshal, no later than October 23.

While the bill requires licensed retailers, manufacturers, and wholesalers to remit the
fee to the State Fire Marshal, it also specifies that they may separately or proportionately bill or
invoice the fee to others.

The fee’s proceeds are to be credited to the Fireworks Fee Receipts Fund, which the bill
creates. The State Fire Marshal is required to use 7/ of the money in the fund for firefighter
training programs. The remaining Vs is to be used to pay the State Fire Marshal’s expenses in
administering the Fireworks Law.?*

If the State Fire Marshal determines that a licensee has failed to timely report and remit
the fee due, the State Fire Marshal may either:

®  QOrder the licensee to report and remit the fee within a specified timeframe;

= Revoke or deny renewal of the license, which requires the licensee to immediately cease
operations and prohibits, for two years, licensed manufacturers and licensed
wholesalers from applying for new licenses.

The State Fire Marshal is also permitted to adopt rules necessary to administer and enforce the
fee.?®

23 R.C. 3743.65(G) and (H) and 3743.99(F) and (H).
24 R.C. 3743.22(A) to (C).
25 R.C. 3743.08, 3743.21, and 3743.22(D) and (E), conforming changes in R.C. 3743.57 and 5703.21.
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Note on effective dates

The bill’'s provisions take effect, are implemented, or requires things to be done at
different times, generally in reference to the effective date of the bill. This list provides a more
uniform reference.

®  Normally, an enactment takes effect on the 91 day after it is filed with the Secretary of
State. The exceptions, such as emergency measures and appropriations, do not apply to
this bill.

® 260 days after the bill’s effective date would be the 351t day after the bill is filed with
the Secretary of State.

® 180 days after the bill’s effective date would be the 271t day after the bill is filed with
the Secretary of State.

® 100 days after the bill’s effective date would be the 191 day after the bill is filed with
the Secretary of State.

COMMENT

Continuing law prohibits fireworks manufacturers and wholesalers from selling
fireworks to an out-of-state resident unless (1) the person possesses (and presents) a fireworks
manufacturer’s, seller’s, or exhibitor’s license or permit from their home state or (2) the person
presents a driver’s license or state identification card issued by their home state.

In existing law, these requirements are stated in R.C. 3743.44, which deals with
fireworks sales to nonresidents, whether consumer grade or display grade. The bill moves them
to a new section, R.C. 3743.46, as a result of the bill’'s new organization that addresses
display-grade fireworks in R.C. 3743.44 and consumer-grade fireworks in R.C. 3743.45,
regardless of the purchaser’s residency.

The new section adds a preface to the requirements, stating that they apply “except” as
otherwise provided in R.C. 3743.44 and R.C. 3743.45. It is unclear, however, to what the
exception stated in R.C. 3743.46 refers. A similar exception, and ambiguity, is stated in
continuing law under R.C. 3743.65(E).
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